1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burnt DVD using shrink/decrypter having problems

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by annni69, Oct 5, 2004.

1. annni69

annni69 Guest

Hello, I'm using shrink/decrypter for my burn needs with DVD. The burn copy seems to start out great when i play back on my dvd player however, about the middle of the movie, i get these small square color blocks and then the movie pauses and then it continues until the end of the movie. I've think I have followed the right course when burning but maybe i'm not...Is this the encryption within the movie? How can I fix this problem? Disney movies seem to do this and my Raiders of the lost ark movies so far...I'm using TDK media so I don't understand the problem..I'm fairly new to the burning world so my understanding of this software (shrink/decrypter) is limited. I'm learning as I go. Please let me know if anyone else has/had this problem and what I can do to fix this. Thanks much.

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

3. annni69

annni69 Guest

Hello,

I'm using a Optorite DVDRW DD0405 (FW140E). The media is TDK -RICOHJPN. I'm still learning everything, I know this is a stupid ?, but firmware???

Thanks, hope this answers your question.

4. Nephilim

You listed the firmware - (FW140E) ;)

Firmware is a set of instructions for media recognition and burn strategy that's written to a chip in the burner. The drive makers are constantly improving their firmwares so if you run into problems one of the first things to look at is whether your firmware is up to date.

The firmware on your drive is two revisions behind so updating your might take care of the poor burns you're experiencing.

Here's a link to Optorite's firmware page where you can download the latest for your drive - 160E. Be sure to follow all the instructions very carefully. It's not hard but if you do it wrong you can kill your drive.