1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

C&C Generals Autorun

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Applecorp, Aug 19, 2003.

  1. Applecorp

    Applecorp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have looked all over this forum and couldn't find an answer to my problem, so here goes.

    I had no trouble backing up Generals, but when I insert disc 1 into my DVD/Cd-rom drive it fails to read the disc, in fact it keeps 'trying' to read it for ages without success.

    Inserting the disc in my cd-rw drive works fine, it auto runs for installation, and installs with no problems.

    So the main problem is it seems only my cd-rw drive will read the disc. My other PC doesn't have a cd-rw drive, only a cd-rom and that also will not read the disc. It just makes lots of noises and usually makes the PC lock up.

    Is there a way to get a DVD/cd-rom drive to read the disc?
     
  2. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Was the image of C&C Generals (cd 1) burned with a "2 sheep burner"? If it was then most likely the backup would play, if not then backup will play in cd burner and usually needing the aid og "hide cd-r\ignore media type"= emulation.

    Shoey :)
     
  3. Applecorp

    Applecorp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks shoey but it turns out that it is the cd-r discs that are causing this.

    They are of the 900mb variety. First time I have used them. I bought some 'normal' 700mb discs and burned generals and it worked fine in my DVD-CD-rom drives.

    Strange why these 900mb discs only work in my cd-rw drive!
     
  4. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Be sure that your cd burner supports 900mb discs m8 as not all do. Check the users manual and also see if there is a firmware update for you cd burner. Glad to hear you got C&C Generals running! For backing up Safedisc 2.8-2.9x or running from a virtual stealth drive, you need an ATIP tool (hide cd-r\ignore media type\Safedisc emulation enabled) to play a backup in a DVD\CD burner. Play backups of Safedisc 2.8-2.9 in your DVD\CD-ROM (preferably), [bold] not your dvd\cd vurner [/bold]

    Shoey :)

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2003
  5. Applecorp

    Applecorp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not sure I fully understand what you mean. My point was the 900mb disc copy worked fine as long as I used it in my cd-rw drive. Are you saying if my cd-rw drive fully supported this media the copy would work ok in my DVD/cd-rom drive?
     
  6. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Not all drives support 90/99 minute media, specifically DVD drives. In general, since the 90/99 media was a CD-recordable odds are that ur burner will have a better chance of reading it. BTW, why did you have to use 900MB discs? Generals isnt that big hehe :)
     
  7. Applecorp

    Applecorp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I used 900mb discs because that's all I had, they were on sale, 25 discs half price (no wonder!!!) Still at least they work in my writer.
     
  8. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Lucky lucky! :)
     
  9. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    As long as you use some type of ATIP tool (hide cd-r\ignore media type) m8. Backups of Safedisc 2.8-2.9 "generally" play in your dvd\cd-rom (no emulation help)

    Shoey :)
     
  10. Applecorp

    Applecorp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It now turns out that it wasnt nescessarily the discs (doh!) I had to do a format/install win XP after I discovered that I had drivers attempting to corrupt windows files.

    I have now made backups with these 900mb discs since formatting/re-installing windows and they work fine in all my drives. Strange!!!
     
  11. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    That's a comforting thought hehe
     

Share This Page