1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cache or cookie, are they the same??

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by youngjedy, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. youngjedy

    youngjedy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello and good day to all. I'm new to these parts and would like to ask a question or two. Is there a difference between "cookie" and "cache"? I keep seeing and hearing that it's good that one clear their cookies and cache regularly? Hoe does one do this? The cookie part I know what to do,but the "cache" item is totally different. Also, how does one get a pic to display in the forums, you know, the cartoon pics or other pics people use when they're in the forums??
     
  2. Toiletman

    Toiletman Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    1. Cache and cookies are different. (Cookies are also fantastic to eat)

    2. You should clear them regulary just because you might not want to get your computer clogged up with all the files. For example, if you visited a crappy site, your cache might contain malicious files.

    3. To get a sig, type [​IMG] To get a picture hoster, I would recommend www.photobucket.com
     
  3. youngjedy

    youngjedy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello and thanks for reponding. I understand the difference between the cookies and the cache. How do I clear out or delete my cache? That was one of the questions posed eariler. and also, you mentioned typing something to get a sig???? I had also asked how to get a little pic posted next to my username when I post in this forum. thanks again and have a nice day. P.S. you mentioned typing, where would I do that?????
     
  4. SilvaHaze

    SilvaHaze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    testing sig, awesomez it works
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    SilvaHaze, wrong forum & thread for that, go to safety valve, test thread to test your sig as per forum rules
     
  6. youngjedy

    youngjedy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sory guys I'm a real newbie. what is "testing a sig"???????by the way, I was able to clear my cache using zonealarm.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
  8. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    youngjedy

    What brower(s) do you have; IE6, Firefox, etc.?
     
  9. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just a side note for you youngjedy,

    If you start in safe mode, go to your dos prompt and type in:

    del index.dat /s if you want to clear out your cookies, because they are still there EVEN if you clear them out in your browser on your regular OS and not in Safe Mode.

    BTW...GET FIREFOX if you don't have it!

    ;)

     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    download ccleaner from ccleaner.com will cleanout all *dat, cookies, temp & other crap in windows
     

Share This Page