1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Call of Duty 4 error

Discussion in 'Windows - Games' started by stew330i, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. stew330i

    stew330i Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I keep getting this error when I try to play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.


    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare couldn't write a file. The Hard drive is probably full.


    Any ideas how to fix it?
     
  2. eiffel65

    eiffel65 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Clean out your hard drive.
     
  3. bkim

    bkim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not necessarily clean it out, but create enough room on your hard drive for the game to write the file. You should have at least 6-8 gigabytes free on your hard drive for COD4.
     
  4. nhodges9

    nhodges9 Guest

    ok so what do i do...?!

    i get this error message when i try to install the game

    "Error 1305.Error reading from file E:\Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw02.iwd. Verify that the files exists and that you can access it."

    Im so confused, and im a noob what do i do?..! :'[
     
  5. Snipe233

    Snipe233 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got a problem too and I tried re-installing the game but I keep getting "DirectX found an unrecover error. Look at readme for possible solutions" But I tried everything...or maybe Please help
     
  6. deadprez2

    deadprez2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  7. proxyRAX

    proxyRAX Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I would check if the file exits...then check if you can access it. The first part is self explanatory, but for the second part, you can launch the game as an admin if you are using vista.
     
  8. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    How much free space do you have on your hard drives and what is your OS?
     
  9. daacekin

    daacekin Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i seem to recall an old racing game which had a similar problem as yours. all i did was clean the temp directory and it fixed it. give it a try. find the temp directory and del all.

    in xp it's c:\documents and settings, (profile name), local settings\ temp

    in windows 98 it's c:\windows\temp

    im sure about xp but i think the 98 ones right too

    only delete the contents of the temp folder. not the folder. could be fatal for the computer!!!! (least likely) :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  10. fraz1989

    fraz1989 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey for all you who have this problem - If you are runnign Vista then you must run the Multiplayer side as an Administrator- Right Click Icon- Run as Administrator-
    this is due to the iw3mp.exe file needs permission

    Happy Fragging
     

Share This Page