1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can anyone tell me the newest software for starview

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by dublin07, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    can anyone plzz tell me the software for the starview boxs and can they pm me the link were to get it wb asap
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    For Starview 1 only

    You will need to know if you have a clone or genuine

    Please click the SV EV Info link at the end of my post to compare clone V genuine boxes.

    You will need a null modem cable DB9F to DB9F.

    Null modem info

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L71BT&DOY=2m6

    If your pc does not have a serial port you will need a USB to serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter info

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=29968&C=Maplin&U=SearchTop&T=rs232 usb adapter&doy=29m1

    These two cable links are only for reference as they can be purchased alot cheaper on fleabay.

    All firmware/loader can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos FTA Library.

    You will need the GTromloader V4, (Starvi*w Software Uploader), found in the Starvi*w software folder of the link.

    You will need version 4.00 firmware for GENUINES found in "Starvi*w" firmware folder.
    You will need version 2.57_FIXED firmware for CLONES found in "Starvi*w" firmware folder.


    Updating Firmware

    Connect your box and PC with a Null modem cable and switch on the cable box and put it on STANDBY.
    (The Starview does not need to be connected to TV to update it with GTROM)

    Open GTROM Loader software make sure that you set the correct COM PORT
    that matches the one that is being used

    Make sure App file only is selected, then click Bin File & browse to the firmware where you downloaded it to on your PC.

    Run the GTROM loader by pressing Download and you will see the % progress increase
    then Download completed message on your PC.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2008
  3. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    can u plzz help me wen i get the GTrom loader and i connect the box to the ps it is (com3)and wen i put the 400 software in a press download the download window comes up but it dosent move and yes my box is a genuine wb asap
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Are you sure you are using a null modem cable as your may be a straight through RS232 cable that looks exactly the same.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2008
  5. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    yeh its the same as the pic but it has a gender changer adaptor but it still looks the same wb asap plzzzzzzz
     
  6. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yep as said it may look exactly the same but may in fact be a standard RS232 lead where in Dublin are you roughly.
     
  7. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    so does tat mean tat it wont work play say no!!!!!!!!
     
  8. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Sorry but no if you dont have the right one it wont as said where in Dublin are you?
     
  9. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    drimnagh why do u need to know where i am wb asap
     
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I will do it for you free of charge thats why :)
     
  11. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    were do u live
     
  12. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Aha you wont find the Batcave lol send me a pm.
     
  13. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    lol @ Batcave
     
  14. dublin07

    dublin07 Guest

    did u get my pm wb asap
     
  15. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No sorry I didnt can you send me one wont be around tomorrow though.
     

Share This Page