1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can I burn more than one "session" on a DVD?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by laff66, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. laff66

    laff66 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm trying to get Hi8 home movies to DVD, and am very much in the experimentation stage still. I have a few different trial versions of encoders, etc. My question is, can I burn a short video clip onto a DVD, using one method or resolution, and then put more on the same disc later? Maybe I could drag all the clips made with different encoders onto one storyboard, and burn them all at once?
    Or does it "finalize" the disc like a CD burner does.
    I'm hoping I don't have to use up a blank for every trial run I make...
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2004
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Welcome to aD -

    I suggest that you use a DVD RW so that you can experiment without losing media -

    The storyboard is the way to go but if you're using something like Nero, you can select multi-session burning

    cheers
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent IV CPU 2.84GHz, 1024MB RAM, 520GB HD.
    Pioneer 107, 8X R/W , Nec R/W ND-1300A, JLMS DVD ROM.
    128MB GeForce4 TI 4200, O/S XP[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2004
  3. laff66

    laff66 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Will an RW disc play in a DVD player? From all that I've read, it can look quite different than playing on your computer.
    Thanks for you help!
     
  4. Pop_Smith

    Pop_Smith Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes! In most cases DVD+/-RWs will play in DVD Players, what brand/model is you dvd player?
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  6. laff66

    laff66 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks. It looks like it will work. I have a cheap-o Toshiba SD3950. Works fine for everything so far.
    I made my first DVD W/MyDVD for capture, chapter set-up, and burning, and it played that. I'd like to figure out the other programs, though, since this one is a little grainy.
    Thanks again!
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    laff66,

    It was only my intension to have you use the DVD RW media to find the best way to get your proggys to disc.

    When you are feeling comfortable with your process and can do it, no sweat - it's p[robably better to use single write media (not to say a bit cheaper).

    If you're traveling with your discs you'll run into many slightly older standalone players that won't like the taste of RW stuff -

    cheers and

    Happy burning -

     
  8. laff66

    laff66 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Don't worry, you answered just what I was asking, and I am using the RW just for testing, and I understood your answer. I have a whole stack of -R Ritek's, but I just didn't want to use one for every test!
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page