1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question Can I Edit Out Commericals?

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by spirittoo, Feb 4, 2017.

  1. spirittoo

    spirittoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just got one of those DVR for OTA TV. I have to use a USB flash drive for storage. Is there a way to edit out the commercials from the programs I recorded using the computer?o_O

    Thanks for reading my post.:D
     
  2. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,914
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Give better detail .For instance what is the output file an mp4,mkv,iso,vob etc.What is the audio is it muxed into the video or separate & what type of audio dual or multi channel.Without knowing nobody can help
     
  3. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You must have gotten a blue pen, too. Not good. :(
     
  4. spirittoo

    spirittoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Golly ... I don't know ... How can I find out? This is all new to me. o_O
     
  5. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,914
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    The extension will tell you either through right click properties or mediainfo (pay to install klite full it should automatically install an entry to right click menu)

    site will be of use & also has free software.Don't pay any money as video editing can be done with free program as far as i'm aware
    videohelp.com
     
  6. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    yeah it's simple.. lots of free video editing software about, depends on your input type which one will work.. avidemux will deal with most, but not all..

    but why would you want to edit out the commercials?.. these days they are the best bit about watching the tv.. the "content" is complete and utter crap..

    "do you need a website?"
     
  7. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,914
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Been a while !
    Agree tv just ain't what it used to be,so much so i stopped watching it 3 years ago,i just can't handle all those ads & the bloody reality nonsense.Everything i want to see is through torrents as netflix imo is a bad joke,mind you they're restricted by content providers & bloody region locking
     
  8. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
  9. terds

    terds Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    There is automatic commercial skipping available, it was popular when media center still existed officially.
    It works very well, and AUTOMATICALLY once you set it up.
    The setup is not for noobs, you use DVRMStoolbox (free) and Comskip ($20-30 for the paid version for HD).

    There is another option I have not used, Lifextender, and MCEbuddy.
     

Share This Page