1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I Make Back Ups Of My HD DVDs ???

Discussion in 'HD DVD discussion' started by ofield, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. ofield

    ofield Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello Everyone,
    I was wondering if there is anyway to make backups of my HDTV
    movies? Will I need I special Dvd Burner, any programs to recommend?

    Thanks for the help and advice.....
     
  2. Bohefus

    Bohefus Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Backups of HD dvd's or HDTV movies?

    celeron 2.8, 2x 80hd, 1 gig ram, mad dog ext 8x dvd+/-r
    1 click DVD / AnyDVD, Dvd-Cloner 2, Dvd Shrink / Dvd43
    Nero, Power DVD, Pinnacle Studio 9.43


    probably not with that computer
     
  3. gforcex64

    gforcex64 Guest

    build a daul core pc with say 500gb memory, sata 3gb/s hard drive ddr2 800 2gb of ram and then lets talk
     
  4. ofield

    ofield Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello gforcex64,
    Isn't 500gb of memory and 200 gb of Ram the same thing? Or do you
    mean a 500 gb Hard Drive. I have plenty of memory and plenty of Hard
    drive space.
    My major question were Software related, and Dvd Burner related.

    Once again thanks for the help...
     
  5. Bohefus

    Bohefus Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No they are not the same and there's not a motherboard on this planet that holds 200 gb of ram. The problem is still hardware related if your talking about a celeron processor. Video card plays a large role in being able to playback HDdvd also. You may be able to rip the contents of you HDdvd but I doubt you would be able to play it back from that computer.
     
  6. tddk

    tddk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    For playing an hddvd, you will need the following Optimally

    1. Amd FX 60 or above, or intel dual core duo or above
    2. bfg nvidia 7600gts or above or equiv. ati
    3. rips usually take up anywhere for 4gb to 12 gb if they are done correctly, so that much hard drive space to store it
    4. 2gb of memory, pc3200 or better

    My Set up:
    fx 60
    Dual bfg 8800gts
    4gb pc3200
    2.5TB of hard drive space


    For ripping hddvds, you are going to need my set up or better as far as memory and cpu are considered. and you will need atleast 30gb of free hard drive space as the initial rip before re-encoding will be about that size.

    use the following software:
    http://all-streaming-media.com/faq/dvd-ripping/faq-How-to-rip-HD-DVD-Blu-Ray-movie-to-harddisk.htm

    That will create a rip on your hard drive....then do the following...

    Last post on this thread:
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=125791

    Bingo, now instead of a 20-30gb movie taking up space, you have a 7gb mkv rip ....

     

Share This Page