1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I play a DVD with one DVD player and record it with a DVD Recorder?

Discussion in 'DVD recorders' started by JHammer33, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the Pioneer DVR-510H for a recorder and just a simple DVD player. I am trying to play a DVD with the player and record it with my recorder at the same time but can't get it to work. Does anyone know the correct way to hook them up? Thanks.
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    3 posts on the same subject ... not good!!!

    Forum Rules:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487

    And, since you probably won't read them here ya go :)

     
  3. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Seems like I need to post it a few more times cause I still haven't got a real response.
     
  4. dzd&cnfzd

    dzd&cnfzd Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What kind of DVD are you trying to copy?
    I'm using a Panasonic E85H and it will not copy any signal with Macrovision or any orther kind of copyright protection on it. I know with the E85H it will look for a CPRM signal piggybacked to the video that will tell the unit weather it is copyrighted(No copy) or view once(Some pay per views)etc...

    "From the Panasonic Manual"
    CPRM (Content Protection for Recordable Media)
    CPRM is technology used to protect broadcasts that are allowed to
    be recorded only once. Such broadcasts can be recorded only with
    CPRM compatible recorders and discs.
    Dolby Digital
    This is a method of coding digital signals developed by Dolby

    Hope this helps
     
  5. catfreak

    catfreak Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
     ...
     ...

     ... and being a smart arse with a moderator won't get you any help from this guy ...
     
  6. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    not that you know what you are doing anyway
     
  7. vurbal

    vurbal Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Who the hell do you think you are? Besides the fact that you seem to think you don't need to follow the rules, you feel the need to be rude as well? You're one more post with an attitude away from getting banned so knock it off.
     
  8. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Please don't ....

    This is just a guess ... but with most recorders you'll usually use the line out from you dvd player, and plug it into the line in. Then you'll have to make sure you choose the right input line on your recorder.

    Have you tried that?
     
  9. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Flip,
    I tried to take the line out from the DVD player to the line in on the recorder and then took the line out on the recorder to the line in on the TV but I couldn't get a picture. It doesn't make any sense why this wouldn't work. It doesn't even work with a DVD that isn't copy protected.
     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Have you tried all the input sources on your tv? Because that has to be on the right one.
     
  11. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I tried all three (TV, Video 1 and Video 2) I am beginning to think that the outputs on my new Pioneer DVR510H aren't working.
     
  12. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Have you tried copying your source dvd to the Pioneer's HD? I don't think you can do a player to recorder copy.
     
  13. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I tried that and still get a blank picture. I would think that I should be able to hook up the DVD through the DVD Recorder to the TV to at least get a picture. I tried it with my VCR and it would work as long as I used the RF cable instead of S-Video or composite cables. My DVD player doesn't have a RF jack though. I think there must be something wrong with the composite and S-Video outputs/inputs on my recorder. Is there anyway to test these for sure?
     
  14. JHammer33

    JHammer33 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I unhooked everything and just connected the Recorder to the TV using the S-Video output and composite audio cables and it worked fine. So I am guessing there must be something wrong with the input jacks (S-Video and composite) is there anyway to test the input jacks to see if they are working for sure?
     

Share This Page