1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I play ps2 Backups on my Ps3?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by alinares, Apr 15, 2007.

  1. alinares

    alinares Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok i'm just wondering if i could play ps2 backups on my ps3?

    I know you can play ps1 games on your psp, but can you do the same for the ps3?
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2007
  2. nodroG479

    nodroG479 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    look it up, jackass
     
  3. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    as of yet, i don't believe so, alinares. you'll be playing ps3 backups on the ps3 before you play ps2 backups.

    nodro, that was completely unnecessary. a mod will soon have his way with you.

    *reported*
     
  4. alinares

    alinares Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thank you Auslander for the info you gave me.
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    nodroG479,

    I just had a look through your post history and you have a real penchant for calling names and generally being a compltete jerk. When you can muster some manners feel free to come back.
     
  6. flightx

    flightx Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just for the record you can play ps2 games (backups) on your ps3 using the old swap majic method, but here's the catch you have to open your ps3 up and do i little DIY.

    here's the page about it and i'm not sure why i even remembered about to tell you the truth.

    http://www.maxconsole.net/?mode=news&newsid=13608
     
  7. alinares

    alinares Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    LOL Yeah its a good method,but who would want to take apart a perfectly good ps3? just for running old games.lol ahahah i'll just wait for someone to find a method to run them off straight from the hdd.lol thanx for the info and link.
     
  8. Narutodbz

    Narutodbz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is ther a away to hack it or something
     
  9. perry07

    perry07 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    not yet, theres only 2 know ways or bootin back-ups, 1. is the swap switch and the other is openin up the blu-ray drive

    swap magic did work at 1 point but a firmware blocked it soo its usless now
     
  10. Narutodbz

    Narutodbz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is there a mod chip out if not when will it be out cuz my ps2 is modded but it is not with me and it won't be with me for awhile
     
  11. tyler123

    tyler123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26


    to the north pole

    mine cost me 425 in the uk .not gonna open it up .i hope sony have not learned from mistakes on the psp .if santa is real an iso loader plz.in any order .psp, ps1 ,ps2 from anybody.

    from antony aged 41

    psp first i hope, got all and every psp as an iso or cso .
     
  12. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    we can't see the future, mang.
     
  13. Jlhfit

    Jlhfit Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Can you read?? if not I know a fine lil tutor that will help you...

    OMG... another useless thread..please close it before it gets out of hand...lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2007
  14. LEO786

    LEO786 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    do ps3 have firmwares like the psp?

    if they do, is there a possability of dark alex making a m33 or oe version?
     
  15. shauntay

    shauntay Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    could this not be achieved bt running linux with a ps2 emulator, ive heard ppl talkin aba it but im not sure as i only got my ps3 yesterday(swapped it for my 360) so i still learnin whaty it can do
     
  16. perry07

    perry07 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    there will be a cfw on the ps3 but jus not yet, its bin done on the psp so its possible on the ps3, but the ps3 is jus abit harder to crack, jus give the hackers time n things will evole in the next thew years
     
  17. 04alexdt

    04alexdt Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you really think it will take that long?? if the ps3 is hackable and can play backed up iso's, would we need to a bit of D.I.Y work to our console, or could u just dwnload it straight to the hardrive?
     
  18. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    considering that no one is paying people to develop their cracks and chips, i'd say yeah, it could very well take a few more years. that's the nature of the beast.

    as for your second question, cite my last response on this thread. you're just going to have to either learn some programming and electrical magic yourself, or wait 'til the developers get some stuff out.
     
  19. ooZEROoo

    ooZEROoo Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    A lot of work is now being done with the hypervisor. We finally have some 3d graphics acceleration through linux. I'm thinking the hack is going to be through linux first before we get the almighty custom firmware.
     

Share This Page