1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I record DVD movies on a DVD recorder?

Discussion in 'DVD recorders' started by ndfan, Dec 29, 2004.

1. ndfan

ndfan Member

I'm sorry for the basic question, I'm a newbie to this process and would appreciate the help of the experts here. Basically, I received a stand alone DVD recorder for Christmas and I was wondering if I could use it to burn movies from my sister's DVD collection. I realize there may be copyright issues but are there ways of getting around that (or programs one could purchase to allow for recording)? I'd greatly appreciate your help...

Thanks!

2. Hrdrk20

Hrdrk20 Regular member

If you have a computer with a DVD burner which can be bought for $50 or less, then you can use DVD Shrink 3.2 to make a complete backup of the DVD movies including extra content ( Trailers,behind the scenes ect.)

I own a Liteon LVW 5001 and have stopped using it because backup DVD-R movies play better off of my moddified XBox than the recorder.

I recently returned to using the DVD recorder to backup some OOP VHS tapes ( Out Of Print) and only about 4 out of 10 were able to be burnt to a blank DVD because of protected content security which will not allow my DVD recorder to record thoes VHS tapes.

3. ndfan

ndfan Member

Thanks for the rely, the computer option is a good one however I don't have one at the moment. So, is there a way to record the movies on an actual DVD recorder? Does it matter which recorder you buy or what recordable DVD's you use...would that help the process?

4. JayDW

JayDW Member

Hello,

I have a similar question. I have a computer, but I also have a stand alone and want to know if there is anyway to copy DVD's without the copyright issue. Is there a device that can be purchased to bypass this or is there a trick to it?