1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I use a hard drive as normal and use it for ps2?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by jdkay20, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. jdkay20

    jdkay20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got a 160GB hard drive and really don't need all that space for my ps2 games so can I also use it as a computer hard drive?
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    yes, you will have to format it with the win xp disk management or the fdisk command.
     
  3. jdkay20

    jdkay20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright I got it formated NTFS. Do I need to ue WinHIIP to canvert it to ps2, or will it just work now?
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I wasn't really sure what you were asking, sorry. No, you can't use it for the computer and ps2 at the same time.
     
  5. babelfish

    babelfish Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    technically you could MAYBE partition it cant you? as you can have FAT32/NTFS running on the same drive - just under diff partitions
     
  6. jdkay20

    jdkay20 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any idea how to do that?
     
  7. cz0840

    cz0840 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you sure you can partition your drive as NTSF instead of FAT32?
     
  8. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Partitioning the drive would be difficult. If HD Loader/Advance detect that the drive is not properly formatted it will partition and format the entire drive. If you then take that drive to Windows, it will not detect any unpartitioned space to use. A third-party program might be able to do it so long as it is able to recognize the partition type that HD Loader/Advance used which I believe would be highly unlikely.
     
  9. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    thats what i was thinking it would do
     

Share This Page