1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can not decrypt one DVD.

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by shooter, Apr 21, 2004.

  1. shooter

    shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am trying to make a copy of my set of Band of Brothers. I have copied most of the other DVDs I own, using Shrink, or DVD Decryptor, and burning them with Nero 6.0 with a 100% success rate. But the FIRST disk, containing chapters 1&2 will simply not decrypt, no matter what program I use on it. It comes up with a repetitive error, saying I/O Error, can not proceed, vob_2_01. repetitive error. I can rip the whole disk, except for that one vob file, and it is only about 16K in size. If I allow it to skip this vob, the disk will not even attempt to burn, saying it is MISSING this file..?<LAUGH> It is driving me nuts. Just seems odd to me that I can copy them all EXCEPT for the first one. Anyone have any ideas?
    Using a pioneer AO5, DVD shrink, DVD Decryptor, Nero 6.0, DVD-R disks which I have burned over 50 of them now at 100% ..with no problems. 2.8 gig P4, 512 megs of RDram4200, etc..quick machine.
    Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
    Shooter==>>
     
  2. shooter

    shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Discmania wrote on a diff thread, "but if you had gotten the message 'cyclic redundancy check' I doubt if any ripping software would have been able to do the job."
    This is EXACTLY the problem I was talking about having with both Shrink, and DVDdecryptor. Does anyone know WHY this is?
    Thanks.
    Shooter==>>
     
  3. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi,

    There are two things you might try:

    1) Set Decypter to read at 1X, doubtful but worth a shot.

    2) Set Decrypter to skip errors in the settings under the I/O tab. This way you can still rip the entire VOB but you might end up with a little bit of boogered up video.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  4. shooter

    shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its worth a shot..thanks for your help:)
    Shooter==>>
     
  5. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    98% of the time this message refers to a media problem. Either a dirty or scratched disc or cheap media -

    1. * Cheap media freezes, skips, stutters, pixelats, partially jams, may be rejected and lest we forget, our old standby, giving you the old just refuses to be recognized routine :-(

    Besides "Freezing", "skips" and pixelations, many times you’ll get a “cyclic redundancy error” or an "I/O error". This message can mean that your discs are scratched or dirty, it can also mean that your burner won’t accept your “cheap” media :-(

    Inexpensive media is great for text, Data, Spreadsheets, .Jpg and .Gif pictures and is good even for MP3 music BUT for DVD backups - BLAaaaaaT! It SUCKTH in an extremely Big-th way !

    2. A good grade media is needed for DVD reproduction !
    Ritek G04's or Branded Verbatim are what we’re looking for OR any media boasting “Advanced AZO Metal Dye”, this indicates a superior dye application, while they are sometimes a bit “pricey” they are acceptable.

    Prices online from Meritline.com have gotten Ritek G04 down below a dollar a disc -
    Question - If you make coasters out of 3 cheap discs and good copies from 3 brande Verbatim discs or 3 Ritek G04 discs - which ones then will you say are too expensive ? The 3 “Cheapo’s with no movie backup OR , the 3 recommended discs with a perfect backup on each disc ?

    Bear in mind, Memorex, Fuji, Sony, TDK, Orange Pack and others are quite good for your MP3 music, picture archives, Spread sheets, Data and your text backups and archives, they just don’t work well for DVD backups.
    Remember, for DVD backups, purchasing inexpensive media is a gamble, some people win, the majority of people lose, varying amounts but, they still lose :-(

    Using good grade media can guarantee you one thing to an absolute certainty, it surely cannot hurt.

    Let's try the right media for the job -

    cheers,

    Pete
     
  6. Buik

    Buik Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Scuba, I second your post. Had the 'cyclic redundancy check' or "error" a few times. Cleaning got me past that message & on to a good burn. A good disc cleaner helps.

    TC
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    There several "Quick Fixes" and some additional thoughts about media -

    STOPGAP FIXES, NOT RECOMMENDED:
    1. * There's a little sometimes fix, it's to compress your DVD to somewhere around 4.2GB even. For instance when using DVD Shrink, open it and click “Edit”, then click “Preferences” on this page we’re going to select “DVD Target Size” as custom and set the size as 4200MB By reducing the amount to be burned you can stay away from the edges where the dye tends to be uneven and the discs may be brittle.

    2. You can reduce the numbers of errors while burning cheapo media by burning at a reduced speed. It takes longer but what the heck, you’re saving money. Since you’re compressing more it might be wise to burn just the movie, the less you burn the better the quality sooo, movie only, please.

    3. Super Cleaning, is a “sometimes fix” which has been known to sneak a few extra disc into use especially when your PC refuses to recognize the disc. We divide it into 2 parts, the first is to literally clean the discs prior to use, even those fresh out of the pack. Using isopropanol alcohol and a soft cotton cloth and rubbing firmly from the center of the disc outward toward the edge. Continue until the entire disc has been cleaned. Commercial cleaners and solution are available at your local electronics store. Part 2 is to reboot your PC just prior to attempting to insert your disc into the drive ”cleaning out” your clipboard and your RAM memory.

    A reminder, play your DVD in your DVD-ROM. It’s easier for your PC to read the disc and it is much easier on your DVD burner. The constant stopping and starting of your burner required to read a disc could cause overheating and premature wearing out of your DVD R/W drive. Sooo, use your DVD-ROM for reading and your DVD-RW for cooking.


    A time thing ?
    One thing I haven't addressed is the life of a backup made on an "el cheapo" disc. Points of fact, inferior discs have a tendency to "Break down" in time. I have had 25 to 30 backups that have refused to play after being stored for a year or more. I test all of my backups when they are burnt to be totally sure that there are no problems. "In olden times," before I knew any better, the Maxell and TDK discs (and any thing that was on sale) was what I used to use before I switched to Ritek and Verbatim, it is the cheap stuff that I have been experiencing trouble with. I noticed that backup DVD's I had been using refused to play in my standalone player and on my PC. VOB files wouldn't play either and other discs that I backed up about the same time would "Jam" part way through the movie. After switching to Verbatim and Ritek s, mostly the Ritek's because the price was right, I've not had 1 go "Flat" in almost 2 years. I still have some backups done on the cheap stuff and as time wears on I lose a few more as I attempt to check them. I say to you, why did a backup play fine in "01"and "02" then "fail" in "03 ?? Some that were done in "01" never made it till "02" and others done about the same time and "Failed" in "04"? All of the backups from "02" and "03", done on the "good Stuff" work fine today - not a single failure !

    As always, you have a choice -

    Pete
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent 4 CPU 2.84GHz, 1GB RAM, 520GB HD.
    4 Drives, JLMS DVD ROM, Nec 4X R/W ND-1300A, HP R/W 200j, AXV CD/DVD-ROM.
    GeForce4 Ti 4200-128MB, OS– XP, SP1.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2004
  8. shooter

    shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Disks are not my problem. I only use Ritek disks for all my backups, and any other dvd burning I do. I get them at Newegg.com for $41.00 for 50 of them on sale. (Like they are this week, with free shipping on them as well.)
    I always try to copy my movies when they are new, and fresh out of the box. so dirt on the original is not an issue for me. I keep my blanks sealed in their plastic case, with a clear coaster, over them to protect the top, and a 1/4 thick cover over that..that fits the stalk of the holder pretty tightly, so I can adjust how far above the blank that this part of the protection sits..I usually keep it about an inch above the blank protector. Just in case any dust should make it though the seal. So far I have not been able to detect any dust getting to the dvd blanks.
    I have not been able to shrink the data below 4.2 gigs on the disk, because I have not been able to get a completed rip as yet for that disk. Using either DVD shrink, or DVD Decryptor. Both stop with ONE vob file LEFT TO DECRYPT, and it just keeps going over and over it, until I finally shut it down. Last time it went to over 135 retries, and still no luck.
    If I skip this VOB, and try to shrink the others, DVD shrink will not accept the files. If I try to just burn the Vobs that contain the movie..I have the same problem, it says it can not burn this disk without VOB # so and so..??
    I am sure now that it is just an encryption problem, and one that I can not find a crack to as yet. I burned the rest of my DVD set, and had no problems with any of the rest of them at all. It is ONLY on disk one that I have a problem.
    (I can only assume they used some new encryption on this first disk, in hopes that no one would try to decrypt the rest of the set..?) If they had this encryption available, why didn't they use it on the rest of the set as well? I have no idea. Perhaps they felt that without chapters 1 & II, no one would want to bother burning copies of the rest of the set? I do know two others that also bought this set of DVD's and attempted to back them up as well. Both had the same results I have had.
    In any case, thank you one and all for your assistance in this matter. You are always a great help to me.<smile>
     
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    What do you use to see what VOB DVD Shrink is stuck on ??
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hiya shooter,

    I've read of this set being backed up before so it's not a new type of encryption.

    I believe you've run into a factory disc that has corrupt data on it which is more common than one would expect. A normal player glides right past these errors whereas a ROM or burner trying to extract all the data will hang up on it.

    Did you try setting Decrypter to skip errors?
     
  11. pudgy

    pudgy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Scuba pete & Nephilim, the two of you amaze me with your knowledge.Keep up the good work.

     
  12. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    1, try ripping main movie in decrtyor in file mode! set options in file mode to main movie. and tick all boxes on left to remove ifo/bup puo's etc etc...

    also if it doesnt work change the brute force method!! in TOOLS/SETTINGS...

    [​IMG]

    2, also in general! set "RCE protection to region 2 or whaever yours is!"

    basically there alot of settings to try..

    hope it helps...

     
  13. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Thanks pudgy :)

    That makes me tingly just thinking about it! Never thought to try that (never had to use it before). Is it designed for instances such as this, Rotary?
     
  14. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi there

    yup just by setting region code a guy yesterday got a good burn! same as disc! it helps rip...

    hes done loads and couldnt work it out on this one!

    also the PUO's take them out!

    thx...

     
  15. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    I've been like most, using the "Bust'em" up method.

    Even in file mode - Ya think we can train Newbies to set and re-set Decrypter ??

    I hadn't thought about it but I will - thanks for the shove in the right direction :)

    and yet I shall become redundant - Ya think we can train Newbies to set and re-set Decrypter ??
     
  16. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Rotary,

    Do you have an order of importance ??

    Several locations to take out PUO's - any suggestions ?

    "P"
     
  17. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi there,

    for the puo's in the instant above is was for file mode page/tab, but as this decryptor has a few ways to rip it only counts on each individual type, i looked at it this way the more guts taken out the less confused it can get! like setting region code for the disc! it tells the rip where to start which helps...

    it was only a try out here for the guy, it worked for someone else so i thought shoot it aong here and se what happens?

    but i dont know if you guys have noticed that usaaly you only see people here with problems, so when we advise them they dont come back to say if it worked.

    it makes learning for all taking abit more time as we must run round the mulbery bush a few times instaed of once!

    also i read your PM and i am interested and will check it out!

    also if i get any ""FUNNY"" happenings here i throw it at HERBSMAN me buddy...

    Thx....
     
  18. magpieant

    magpieant Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all.

    I am one of Rotary's 'recruits'. Followed the instructions above and managed to make a quality back up of crouching tiger hidden dragon- which had previously not been ripping at all.

    Give it a try Shooter and let us know how you get on.

    Cheers.
     
  19. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi there

    hows those discs magpieant, this is the guy the procedure worked for! i first came to see these settings in action with a friend of mine who lives close by, he had a problem disc with region 1 protection an asia nasty to copy disc... it worked after alot of setting changes as on the surface it said rgion 1 but when investigated it was region 3? or something "quite odd!" but it did it, dvd shink just spat it out!

    Thx
     
  20. shooter

    shooter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I always asnwer when someone posts a reply to me. It may take me a couple of days to get a chance to try what you suggest, but I always do that as well. (unless it has something with the words sun dont shine in it.:) )

    I did try changing the settings on DVD decryptor last night, I tried a number of different settings and combinations, still the same results.

    If I take the VOBs I can rip, which is all except for one of them, a very small one, and try to burn it using any program, it will still not work in my set top player. (which I have never had any problems playing a disk in that I have burned before.) It just shows as no disk being there to play is all. So for what ever reason, this DVD copy NEEDS that one VOB to play. You would not think that would be the case, as it is such a tiny file.

    I downloaded the newer version of decryptor, same results with that one as well. I was hoping that would do the trick. I will keep screwing around with the settings, and if I can get it to rip one and work, I will let you all know.

    Thanks again for all your help, and advice. :)

    Shooter==>>

     

Share This Page