1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can standalone DVD players play just the .vob files?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by birck, Mar 4, 2003.

  1. birck

    birck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am starting to copy videos to my HD with SmartRipper. Some movies will play by clicking the video_ts.ifo file using PowerDVD.

    Others freeze the computer when using video_ts.ifo, but the individual vob's will play as media files using PowerDVD.

    Can standalone (non computer players) play just the vob's if I copy them without a menu file?

    If so how do you jump to the next vob?

    I don't have a DVD writer yet so cannot try this myself.


    Thanks-
    Ted--
     
  2. Bladestor

    Bladestor Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, they will. When you put just the vob's a crude menu will appear letting you select what vob you want to watch.
     
  3. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't know what kind of player you have but I don't know any that will play just the VOB files and throw up a menu of them.

    You don't need a menu to get it to play in a standalone but you do need the IFO files and their back ups (BUP)

     
  4. obiandy

    obiandy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried ripping a dvd using Dycrypter, then dvd2one and then burning the ifo, bup and vob files to a dvd, however my standalone dvd player or computer won't play it. Any idea what i'm doing wrong?
     
  5. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    could be a number of things, were you following a guide?
    Did you have them in a folder called VIDEO_TS?
     
  6. obiandy

    obiandy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dycrypted files into a VIDEO_TS FOLDER,then used DVD2one, getting it to put the files into a new folder in the same directory. The used Record now dx to burned the files from the new folder to a dvd-r disk. The fished disk has all the relavant files but standalone or power dvd(says files not supported) won't run it.Using guide(Copy from DVD-9 movie to a single DVD-R with DVD2one) from this site?
     
  7. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I'd suggest virtually exactly what your doing but this software instead:

    Smartripper
    DVD2One
    Nero

    Thats only because I use this method and find it to be really productive.

    : )
     
  8. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just to be clear, you need the files in a folder called VIDEO_TS on the DVD not just the files on their own
     
  9. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hehehe right !!

    I see , you shouldn't put them back to the same directory.
    Create a new folder on your Drive for DVD files.
    If you create things in the same directory it is then gonna become a sub-directory

    Rip them to a folder , DVD2One them to a seperate folder.
    Delete the Rip folder (if it's too much in Gb for your HDD).
    The files in the DVD2One folder are then to be burnt to a VIDEO_TS folder in Nero/RecordNow.

     
  10. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There's no need to create a VIDEO_TS Folder if you burn in UDF/IFO Mode in Nero.
    There is an AUDIO_TS Folder & VIDEO_TS Folder already there.

    I normally have 2 folders I use ;
    VTS_01
    VTS_02

    VTS_01 for Smartripped files
    VTS_02 for DVD2One files

    Open Nero , drag n' drop files from VTS_02 in the VIDEO_TS Folder in Nero's left hand column and 25 mins later a playable DVD-R in any (well most) stand alone DVD Players.

    herbs
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2003
  11. obiandy

    obiandy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Many thanks for both of your help, got it to work in the end using your advice. Have to admit it tool a hell of a long time from decrypting files/dvd2one to burning them. Could my 1.5P4 processor be the main fault here??
     
  12. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I'd categorically have to say...no !!

    The main reason is cos I am only running on a AMD Athlon 900Mhz & am not encountering any extra lengthy procedures.

    Smartripper (approx 15-40mins depending on how big DVD is & what drive your ripping with)

    DVD2One (approx. 25-40mins depending on size)

    Nero (15-60mins depending on X1,X2orX4).

    herbs

     

Share This Page