1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can Wiikey PARTIALLY work?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Sanjik, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. Sanjik

    Sanjik Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok guys,

    So before I had a problem where I basically couldnt solder the wiikey to the wii because the contact patches were gone, now I got the wii exchanged and i think i may have soldered everything correctly (wire solder this time, including big holes)

    I can start wii config which usually indicates the wiikey is operating well because when it wasnt working i couldnt load the config disc.

    The only thing is, for example, when I try to load the media player within the disc (which worked long ago when i had the wiikey the first time working) it says multiple things failed and "insert new iso disc"

    So I burned a new disc with imgburn at 3x speed and im getting the same problem.

    Could this be a soldering problem? I know it may be a little sloppy since some wire is a little too exposed so some wires down by 3,4,5,6 solder patches might be touching.

    Well anyway I wanna know if the wiikey can PARTIALLY work or if it either WORKS or it DOESNT WORK AT ALL? thanks
     
  2. kivela

    kivela Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Did you happen to get an answer already, because I have sort of the same question. My mediaplayer and SNES emu don't even visualise (blank screen), but the config screen of 1.2 seems to be working.
     
  3. Sanjik

    Sanjik Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well in my case I think it was bad connections so maybe check your connections and make sure everything is soldered properly, that did it for me.
     
  4. kivela

    kivela Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well after resoldering a few times my wife came with the solution... :s

    The problem is that although I burned the PAL disc, it still is PAL60hz, where as in Europe PAL normally is 50hz. An RGB Scart cable should make it work, so I am going to pick one up today and than everything should work perfectly !

    Thanks for your response
     
  5. ziggi_83

    ziggi_83 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sajik where and how did you get your wii exchaned didnt you void the warranty by opening it
     
  6. Sanjik

    Sanjik Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    At the local game store. =)
     
  7. ziggi_83

    ziggi_83 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Lol how much was that? Didnt you void your warranty with them by opening it and attempting a mod or did you pay them?
    Where about do you live?
     
  8. Sanjik

    Sanjik Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its somewhere in so cal, I dont think they care to check whether you opened it or not, they just exchanged it
     

Share This Page