1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you downgrade with a 4 gig stick

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by stocon, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. stocon

    stocon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Read somewhere it is not recommended, don't have stick and I got 2.80.
    Wanted to buy a good deal from CC this WE.
    thx Steve
     
  2. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I would snap up that memory stick deal from CC before they go back to regular price..sale ends saturday!! as far as downgrading-as long as you dont do something gay like pull the memory stick out while its flashing, you'll be fine.
     
  3. glenquag

    glenquag Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You probably shouldn't do that since 1.50 firmware can't use sticks above 2GB.
     
  4. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thats right...forgot about 1.5FW-its been a while!

    I would still jump on that 4 gig deal though. maybe you could get a little one, like a 32MB for cheap to do the downgrade.
     
  5. evil_cm

    evil_cm Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I did it.. it was fine.. my was a red 4gb scandisk
     
  6. stocon

    stocon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Let me understand, you could do the downgrad then swap the stick? Isn't software written to the stick? If i borrowed someones stick, he'd just format??
     
  7. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    either way would work, probably would just be easier to borrow your friends stick to do the downgrade/upgrade-because you may run into trouble using the 4gig exclusively because of the compatibility with 1.5 firmware. once your done, like you said, he can just format it to get the files off of it.
     
  8. stocon

    stocon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So when I get to 3.40 =a I could just swap the sticks?
     
  9. CKhaleel

    CKhaleel Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hehe, i haven't been on 1.5 for a while, i forgot about UMD auto-start.

    and yes, you can swap sticks at 3.40 OE-A. ;)
     
  10. blackvamp

    blackvamp Regular member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I don't know about that, when I downgraded and upgraded to 3.40oe, I was using sandisk 4gig.
     

Share This Page