1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you recomend a device for me?

Discussion in 'Portable audio players' started by pconyers, Mar 28, 2011.

1. pconyers

pconyers Member

I work as a cable installer and am looking for a unit that will play .mp3’s (preferably some sort of flash media) and AM/FM radio to enjoy while I am out in the field. It needs to have a 3.5 mm jack, an easy to see and use display (but not doing video or anything), somewhat small in size and durable and able to take a bump and be used out in the elements as I work in some pretty hectic conditions at times. Any recommendations for me?

2. xboxdvl2

xboxdvl2 Regular member

im thinking mobile phone.the reason im saying mobile is most mp3 players dont have radio.my nokia has radio,usb slot,micro sd card slot,can play acc or mp3 files.the only downside about using my mobile is it requires the nokia headphones (which come with it anyway or $4.99 on ebay).

3. pconyers

pconyers Member

My phone does all those things except for AM radio. With all the sporting events and sports radio I would listen to I really want that. Any item out there that has AM radio too?

4. Mez

Mez Active member

I would look into a SanDisk Sansa Clip. They are small,inexpensive, decent player. They have a small screen will not play videos but that was not in your wish list. If you shop around you ought to be able to get an 8 g for about $50 on line. They just clip onto your cloths. My son has had a 2 g for a few yrs now. They are quite reliable.

A word of caution with the Sansas, use a syc app instead of drag and drop. If you continually use drag and drop you might have problems. You can't use play lists with D&D.

5. pconyers

pconyers Member