1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can you run internet explorer 6 and 7 ??

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by pagan8tor, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. pagan8tor

    pagan8tor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My xp machine told me to d/l this new version and like a dummy I did. What I would like to know is can you run both versions on the same computer?? I like some of the new features of 7 but I have some software that does not work with 7. Can you have both 6 and 7 and run them seperately?
     
  2. 8chaos

    8chaos Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    one word...firefox
     
  3. pagan8tor

    pagan8tor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The software I have won't work with firefox either. Thanks though
     
  4. 8chaos

    8chaos Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you can try and uninstalling both and reinstalling them to separate places...I think when you install ie, it will look for other versions on your comp and use the latest. You would also have to have two separate icons or just know where the folder is, bc ie might do the same thing when you click on the ie icon.

    anyone else have any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,007
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can only use 1 or the other but not both so decide on which to get rid of. since you have programs that don't work with ie7 than get rid of it till more fixes come out for it or your programs get fixes to work with ie7.
     
  6. pagan8tor

    pagan8tor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DDP thanks for the input i appreciate it its not the answer i wanted to hear but hey what can you do ? oh well but thanks
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,007
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     
  8. spudgun77

    spudgun77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The only way to run both is by setting up and running a virtual machine, loading a copy of your o/s onboard the VM, disable IE7 from the updates and running it from there.
     
  9. ashwin18

    ashwin18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That's too much of work just for the sake of using a particular site, isn't it?
     
  10. spudgun77

    spudgun77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It depends on how desperate the user is for it! But it is a way around it and the only way I know of running 2 versions of IE on the same computer.
     
  11. pagan8tor

    pagan8tor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well the VM might be the waf for me to go. it seems to have the answer to my problem thanks for the input , that never even crossed my mind.
     

Share This Page