1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot boot

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by durkinjt, May 14, 2017.

  1. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have an older HP computer, 500g hd, 4g RAM, I3 cpu. when I boot up I get the message press "ESC key to enter startup". I have tried another good HDD and still get the message. Any help appreciated.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38,959
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check the time & date in the bios to see if those 2 are correct as maybe the cmos battery is dying or died.
     
  3. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks, the computer is a desktop, where would the cmos battery be ?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38,959
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    128
    on the motherboard, about the size of a quarter but at least twice as thick as 1.
     
  5. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    when you say you tried another known good hdd,did it have windows installed on it or are you trying to reinstall windows?did it boot fine before?what were the circumstances leading up to this problem?sorry,more questions than answers.lol.also,what operating system are you running?
     
  6. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks.The hdd had Win8.1, no previous issues.
     
  7. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    if the hdd came of a pretty much identical computer it may boot,but not likely.what led up to the old hdd not booting?if nothing else you could reinstall windows to that second drive and recover your files from the old one.which windows are you running?
     
  8. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks, The problem I am having was the reason I tried a different HDD. Cannot get it to anything, tried hitting ESC, F8 , Window-B combo when rebooting, none worked.
     
  9. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    trying to boot with another hdd with windows on it will almost never work.what i am trying to get at is,the circumstances under which the problem started.its starting to look like you need to reinstall windows on the second drive and transfer any files etc you need from the original.
     
  10. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks. There were no problem, it just came on. I cannot reinstall Windows, as I can't get it out of the mode it's in now
     
  11. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    you will have to go into the boot menu or bios on startup and set your operating systems install media (cd,dvd,or usb)to boot from.then you simply follow the prompts to install the os to your hdd.post your operating system and we can get a wee bit more specific.lol
     
  12. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Cannot get into bios, its stuck with the error message.
     
  13. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    is this a laptop or desktop?
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38,959
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    128
    make & model# of hp computer?
     
  15. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Desktop
     
  16. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    restart the pc and press f10 to enter boot menu.not meaning to be snarky,but getting info here is like pulling hens teeth.you havent mentioned your os.lol
     
  17. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Better to post the error message as well yes,keeping info like that to yourself is just plain greedy
     
    aldan likes this.
  18. ez2beme

    ez2beme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    disconnect everything from pc then open it up and take out RAM for a min or two then replace it hook everything back up then try it
     
  19. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,950
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Won't work if a ram stick is faulty,however your on the right track.Leave one of the sticks out then reboot.If it beeps switch sticks,if still no go try the other slot with only 1 stick etc.However it may not ram related
     
  20. ez2beme

    ez2beme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had hp desktop that i wanted to put new OS on and it wouldn't boot from tray and you couldn't get into bio's and i took out the ram started it turn it back off replaced the ram started it again and was able to go into bio's and change boot menu
     

Share This Page