1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cannot play backups or originals after update

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by bob_hardy, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. bob_hardy

    bob_hardy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone

    I've tried looking for a solution and cannot find on here. If there's already an answer please just point me in that direction.

    I stupidly tried to play a backed up version Just Dance 3 with ixtreme 1.6 (supposed to have been an offline version of ixtreme, hence me not checking online for any issues this may cause - lesson learned). Now none of my original games or backups that have worked before play any more.

    I updated my drive to LT3 but this has not fixed the issue, I still cannot play originals or backups.

    I just get an error stating that the update cannot be applied and to check out xbox.com/support with a long support code....

    Can anyone suggest anything?

    Thanks

    ---edit----
    Reading more now, I also did not run the game through ABGX. Would that have something to do with it? Would running it through there and re-burning help?

    Thanks again
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  2. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Your system may need the system update. You can get it from M$'s website, and put the update on a USB Drive, and update your system that way. Try updating the system to the latest dashboard, and then see if games will play!

    Though, I'm not 100% sure, but updating the system, may revert the firmware on the drive back to stock, so you'll have to re-flash. If that is the case, just see if originals play, after updating!

    Here's the link to where to get the system update!
     
  3. bob_hardy

    bob_hardy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks DavGerm4. I tried updating the dash via USB before updating the firmware to see if originals would play that way and they still didn't.

    Would running the game through ABGX and burning it again help at all (I didn't do that the first time)?

    Thanks
     
  4. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That's odd that the games still aren't playing. I wouldn't go with re-burning with ABGX, because if originals still aren't playing, then there could be something wrong with the drive. The laser could be going out, but it just seems weird that all of a sudden it stopped working...

    Maybe someone else on the forums has some input!
     
  5. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I bet the firmware update tried flashing back to stock, which didn't work and now the drive key is erased.
    bob_hardy, you still have the drive key from an older flash? If yes, use that to flash the drive.
     
  6. bob_hardy

    bob_hardy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks to both of you for your help.

    Eisherz I was under the impression that the new version of jungleflash and lt3 should be able to find the original hidden key. Is that right?

    a la
    hXXp://xbox360.dashhacks.com/2011/04/22/retrieve-dvd-key-drives-affected-xgd3-beta-dashboard


    thanks again
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  7. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    You didn't need a new version of jungleflasher for that, I used PMT and it worked perfectly.
    What I mean is that there is no key at all, meaning you got a blank drive.
     
  8. bob_hardy

    bob_hardy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh. Every time I put in a disk it says updating, but never actually finishes and I get the error message.

    I'm assuming that's not enough information to diagnose that issue...

    Well thanks for you help, it is appreciate.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  9. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    OK. Then it's not a drive issue.
    I found this youtube-video, you might get it a try:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKbkoqhdXVY
     

Share This Page