1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant burn movie whats wrong?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by kidas, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was wondering I'm trying to burn a movie I burned one the other day no problem but this one wont work what could be wrong?
     
  2. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
     
  3. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Since Shrink hasn't been updated in awhile sounds like it can't handle the copy protection on this one.

    Rip w/ DVDFab HD Decrypter 1st then open the video_ts folder in Shrink. DVDFab is still updated to handle the newer stuff.
     
  4. tvaustin

    tvaustin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am having a similar problem.
    i backed up a dvd backup fine at about 11pm (english time) last night.
    got up this morning (4 am) and i cannot backup anything (inc my backups) it just starts analsing them and gets to about 85% and get the error message

    dvd shrink has encounted a problem and cannot continue
    Failed to read file E (My dvd drive. I have 2 drives and tried both as source drives but still the same)

    I have done a system restore to a couple of days ago when all was well, uninstalled it and reinstalled it but still the same problem
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2007
  5. orion250

    orion250 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What's the name of the movie you are trying to backup? What software are you using to rip the movie? Shrink doesn't burn, it shrinks files and transcodes them for burning. If you are using Shrink to rip the movie to the hard drive, don't. It might not be able to handle the copy protection on that disc. Use either Ripit4me (although it hasn't been updated for 3 months but still works on all the movies so far) or Dvd Fab HD Decrypter to rip with then you can use Dvd Shrink to shrink the files just enough to put onto a disc depending on the size of all files combined that pertain to that movie. Then, just use Imgburn to burn the movie to disc. You shouldn't have a problem with this recipe.



    THE SPECIFIED FOLDER IS INVAILD
    THE SYSTEM CANNOT FIND THE PATH SPECIFIED
    --- I'm thinking that if you ripped the movie to the hard drive first, maybe you are trying to look in a different folder or subdirectory for the movie files to shrink them or you are trying to back them up into a directory that doesn't exist, I could be wrong though.


    Ripit4me
    http://download.softpedia.com/dl/c7b8be3...ls/RipIt4Me.zip
    http://www.toggle.com/tag/ripit4me.htm

    Dvd Fab HD Decrypter
    http://dvdfab.com/free.htm

    Imgburn
    http://www.imgburn.com/
     
  6. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tryed useing DVDFab HD Decrypter and then I went to dvd shrink and it still dident work. what else would I try?
     
  7. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What movie are you doing? Same error?

    Try doing movie only - use reauthor mode in Shrink.
     
  8. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What do you mean by use reauthor mode in Shrink.how do I do that I'm not sure
     
  9. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It's very easy - here's a guide.
    Any problems just post back.

    @orion250 - Howdy!
     
  10. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can burn the movie fine but theres no sound now I used the dvdfabhddecrypter and then went into use shrink what could be the problem?
     
  11. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when I go in to dvdfab HD Decrypter it shows copy dvd-video is marked
    but the copy dvd-audio isnt marked how can I get it
     
  12. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Which movie are you doing?

    That option in DVDFab is only for the 'paid' version - doesn't mean the audio won't be included if not checked. I think it has something to do with just ripping the audio only.

    Try and playback the file from the pc that you ripped w/ DVDFab - audio there?
     
  13. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there another program that I can use other then dvdfab
     
  14. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you can try using FIXvts or Vobblanker before using shrink to see if that helps with your problem

    DL VobBlanker

    DL FixVTS

    or you can try a free trail of ANYdvd at http://www.slysoft.com/en/

    post back any questions about FixVTS or VObblanker
     
  15. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It still didnt work but when I put the dvd movie in I goto explore on the audio file and it shows no files in that file is that the way its post to be?
     
  16. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah the audio folder is usually empty.

    What happens when you try playing the video_ts folder? Any audio?
     
  17. orion250

    orion250 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Again, what is the name of the movie? If you want to have working menus, DON'T use the re-author mode! Just use Ripit4me, it is not updated but still works on every movie I've tried so far if you don't like Dvd Fab Decrypter.


    Ripit4me
    http://www.videohelp.com/tools
     
  18. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The name of movie theres a couple I'm trying to do but the hills has eyes 2 and some kids movies
     
  19. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can someone walk me through this program on how to use it so I do it right thanks
     
  20. kidas

    kidas Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when I go to Ripit4me when it burns the cd this is what comes up "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the set Associations Control Panel." What should I do?
     

Share This Page