1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can't clear unwanted files off cfw ps3 (Hermes )

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by knfusd, Nov 3, 2012.

  1. knfusd

    knfusd Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I recently purchased a cfw ps3. The seller said that it had Kmeaw firmware on it, but after getting it home home and messing with it I found that it has Hermes firmware on it instead. It has multiman 4.07 and ps3ultimate t.v. as well. But that's where my issues lay. Along with 5 games it has 30 t.v. shows and 60 movies on the hard drive. It's on a 40 gb hdd. I don't wish to keep any of the shows or movies on it, but I can't seem to delete any of them off. To make matters worse I can't even watch any thing or get the channels on the thing to even work. I'm strapped for cash right now so I'd like to clear the space for to movies and games that I would like to put on it until I can get a larger hdd to put into it. Is there any way I can do it without formatting the entire drive? Just delete the shows and unwanted movies off.
     
  2. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    how can it be hermes if the last hermes was 3.41?..... what you have IS kmeaw... if you did check multiman system information what you saw there said hermes... more like [SC-8 | Hermes] what it does say is simple... multiman is using SC-8(Syscall8) and Hermes(payload)... that's pretty much it... as for deleting files or folders.. well you can use the ftp or use the file manager that multiman comes with... load multiman and just press select + start it will load the mmos then go to > ps3 root > dev_hdd0 you will see the folders you want to delete and all that other stuff... select a file or folder and just press circle.. in the menu select delete... that's it... btw if you dont want to use hermes payload you can change it in multiman go to settings there go to BD-ROM Emulator and change it from hermes to standard that should give you [SC-36 | Standard]... all these are just payloads mind you....
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  3. knfusd

    knfusd Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    First and foremost, thank you for your response Cyprien. Thank You very much for your time dealing with me. I've tried what you instructed me to do after loading Multiman I hit start + select at which point it goes to a grainy grey page where nothing works. I can't move the selector/cursor anywhere. I then tried in settings where I saw the mmos folder but it doesn't allow access to it, same with the FTP setting all it gave was the option to change the amount of time before it would time out. I have a ps3 with an old version of Multiman on it, I mean one of the early versions which is why all of what you've told me is like Chinese to me. I must say you know your stuff, everything you said previous is 100% correct. But I'm stuck with what to do nothing seems to work. I'll hope from another response from you before going on but in the meantime another question. One if I get things worked out on this ps3 would you keep it as is or change it to regular SC-36 Kmeaw payload. Now that I even think about it, would changing it maybe make it easier to access those files I want to delete?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  4. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    you should update to the latest multiman 04.10.00
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5xmb6dnn98vrg6y

    FTP is a protocol... settings for it in multiman are just for timeouts and turning it on/off... if the ps3 is connected to network and multiman is showing ip just use flashFXP or filezilla and connect to that ip....

    get filezilla here http://filezilla-project.org/download.php?type=client

    in mmos just use the right thumb stick to move around... or better yet just connect a mouse it also works with a keyboard as far as i know... left stick moves the window in case you're wondering lol :3 SC-36 is used by another payload i always get the name wrong.. its either PL3 or just PL... its more compatible with games than hermes... another note to make is if you want you can use the new REBUG cfw based on 4.21 and the ROGERO 4.21 or the ROGERO 4.30... all 3 eliminate the use of hacked eboots.. plus you get PSN/SEN working there aswell... (^__^)
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  5. knfusd

    knfusd Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Funny, I work at night which is why i'm up at crazy hours, but yeah I finally got into the mmos but when going into it the only thing that responds is when you hit triangle which gives you a choice of copy,create shortcut, or properties. I went into properties which told me the size of all the files 30.54gb, it then says hit square to continue which puts you back at square one. there's only a little over a one gb of free space so I couldn't copy anything if I wanted, but still not getting access to the files to delete. The ps3 is connected to the internet so I should be connected to my network correct? I'd like to do that in the future (upgrading the cfw) but most if not all my games have fiixed eboots which unless i'm mistaken means i'd have to find all those original eboots over again correct? What I would like is to have one in living room and one in bedroom, have a portable hdd with games on so I could play my games + movies on either one when the wife is watching lifetime or some other crap like that!!

     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  6. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    just use filezilla if multiman is showing ip... just type in the ip and connect then just browse to dev_hdd0.... then just select a file or folder and delete... just check folders before deletion... games can be big as well don't forget that..
     

Share This Page