1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't connect between computer and Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by felixen21, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. felixen21

    felixen21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's weird, cause I use the same setup as I've always done. A year ago my computer and Xbox 360 would connect just fine. Now I have the newest version of windows media player and I have allowed file sharing in the settings, but when I do the media test on my 360 it fails at the point where it's supposed to find the PC.

    So it says that I have to have my PC and 360 on the same network and stuff, which they are. I don't know how to fix it and it sucks cause I just found this TVersity that lets you stream videos from the PC to the 360.

    I dunno what's wrong, I know I have a dynamic IP (well I think that's what it's called - means my IP changes each time I go online I think).

    I also had problems using homebrew wifi stuff on my DS (although official stuff with wifi worked just fine on it), so I dunno if it's some weird settings I don't know of or what

    EDIT: left out some important stuff. I use a wireless Linksys router, but both my PC and my 360 is connected via ethernet cables to the router. My PC is on XP, but I've tried with Vista on my Vaio as well, and that didn't work either
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2008
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    It is most likely a setting somewhere in your network or the router. Some things you can try.
    1. Opening up the ports for the Xbox on your router
    2. Checking your programs to see if they all have the same network name lsited as what your PC has
    3. If your router has security like my Linksys does make sure you have input the SSID name, type of security and key into your 360
    4. you can also get support at Xbox.com as they have guides that tell you how to set everything up from scratch. Go through those and start fresh.

    TVersity and ORB are both programs for streaming media to your 360. They work ok but i tried both and was not highly impressed with either one.
     
  3. smoobies

    smoobies Guest

    Yea, check your firewall settings on both computers. perhaps you have a new internet security on them or maybe there was an update. if you have a firewall that came with you internet security such as Mc Affee, of CA , or Norton check the fire wall settings and turn off your microsoft firewall or visa versa. You only need one on.
     
  4. smoobies

    smoobies Guest

    Another thing. Check your 360 NAT and see if it's on strict. Try unplugging every thing, Modem, router, xboxes, computer. Then plug in Modem, wait 1 minute, then router 1 min( let it detect. do the same for all devices. My friend had a strict nat on 360 and the one day he had a black out which reset everything and by coinsidence, now his 360 nat is good.
     
  5. felixen21

    felixen21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for your answers.. So how do I do the port thing? Under my router settings I have this Applications & Gaming menu, but I dunno what to do in there. Also, I don't recall ever seeing where I could put in SSID name and security key on the xbox. How do I do that?
     
  6. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/911728?sd=xbox
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/908874?sd=xbox
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/910635?sd=xbox
    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemuse/xbox360/digitalmedia/pc.htm

    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/windowsics-usb.htm
    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/webconnectivitywizard.htm

    http://portforward.com/

    That is as many links as i could find to try and help. Xbox.com has a pretty good support section. As far as where to enter the SSID, type of security and security key on the 360, wel that i just did a long time ago. I forget the exact route. But if you are in your betwork settings and you look around you will find it. I am 100% sure it is there because my Linksys router has security and in order to connect to XBL i had to enter those three things. It may detect the SSID name automatically but the other two you will manually have to enter
     
  7. smoobies

    smoobies Guest

    For some reason Linksys routers love to have xbox on DMZ. Try that BUT, make sure you assign your Xbox's ip to the DMZ, not computer's
     
  8. felixen21

    felixen21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    okay, thanks a lot everyone. I will have a look at all the things you've said. Hope it works
     
  9. IceKing1

    IceKing1 Guest

    Damn Steimy, that was nice you did that much research for him, you should be a mod here.
     
  10. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    LOL, thanks
    I just went to Xbox.com and did a few simple searches.
     

Share This Page