1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get file sharing SW to work

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by triviaace, Sep 6, 2007.

1. triviaace

triviaace Regular member

I've been using Kazaa gold for several years until recently when it refused to connect me to the server. I spoke to a tech at Kazaa gold who was quite helpful but couldn't get the software to work for me. I made sure that my firewall allowed Kazaa and I tried Soul Seek and that program goes into a not-responding mode and I can't seem to get the hang of Bit Torrent at all. I need all the help I can get.

2. djscoop

djscoop Active member

you've been using Kazaa for years? Its a wonder your computer hasn't self-imploaded already...its probably so full of spyware, adware, trojans, viruses, you name it. uninstall kazaa. download AVG free and run it (free antivirus app). download adaware and run it (free ad/spyware app). then check out the "guides" section here. I recommend bitcomet.

3. triviaace

triviaace Regular member

I've really never had a problem with Kazaa Gold until now. I use Norton Internet Security as my virus protect (you can't run more than one) so I'll pass on AVG. I will try the other file sharing program, Bit Comet. Thanks for the input.

4. Auslander

Auslander Senior member

yes, you can run more than run. i run 2 to 3 constantly.

5. ahiah9

ahiah9 Regular member

I didn't think you could run more than one antivirus either. (Are you sure you can do that?) Always heard it created false positives. Even at just running 1 only, not sure Norton is the way to go there.
    Either way, Ad-aware, and Spybot S&D are both free, and each pick up things the other misses. If you don't like bit comet, and you are looking for something closer to Kazaa... try Frostwire.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2007
  6. Auslander

Auslander Senior member

norton is *not* the way to go, that's for sure.