1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant get need for speed underground 2 to work

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by hammester, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am trying to backup need for speed underground 2. I made the game into and ISO file using dvd decrypter. I then burned the ISO file using DVD decrypter onto a verbatim DVD-R. I have a mod chip but do not remember the name. All i know is it was one of the first ones out. You needed gameshark to use it. You hold the power button unitl the gameshark loads, then you release the power button and the disk ejects out and you but the backup game in. Well i did this and when i tried to load it it keeps getting stuck on the loading screen. Any suggestions? Also all of the dvd's i am burning are not working on my ps2 either but they are working on my dad's dvd player.


    I 15:45:58 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.2.0 started!
    I 15:45:58 Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional (5.0, Build 2195 : Service Pack 4)
    W 15:45:58 Drive D:\ (FAT32) does not support single files > 4 GB
    I 15:45:58 Initialising ASPI...
    I 15:45:58 WNASPI32.DLL - Adaptec's ASPI Layer - ASPI for Win32 (95/NT) DLL - Version 4.71.1.0
    I 15:45:58 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 15:45:58 Found 1 DVD-ROM and 1 DVD±RW!
    I 15:47:23 Operation Started!
    I 15:47:23 Source File: D:\DVD's\Need for speed underground 2\UNDERGROUND2.MDS
    I 15:47:23 Source File Sectors: 1,403,616 (MODE1/2048)
    I 15:47:23 Source File Size: 2,874,605,568 bytes
    I 15:47:23 Destination Device: [1:0:0] PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A 1.04 (E (ATA)
    I 15:47:23 Destination Media Type: DVD+R (Disc ID: CMC MAG-E01-00) (Speeds: 4x, 6x, 8x)
    I 15:47:23 Destination Media Sectors: 2,295,104
    I 15:47:23 Write Mode: DVD
    I 15:47:23 Write Speed: 4x
    I 15:47:23 Test Mode: No
    I 15:47:23 BURN-Proof: Enabled
    I 15:47:23 Filling Buffer...
    I 15:47:24 Writing LeadIn...
    I 15:47:45 Writing Image...
    I 15:56:22 Synchronising Cache...
    I 15:56:26 Closing Track...
    I 15:56:27 Finalising Disc...
    I 15:56:43 Operation Successfully Completed! - Duration: 00:09:20
    I 15:56:43 Average Write Rate: 5,440 KB/s (3.9x) - Maximum Write Rate: 5,671 KB/s (4.1x)
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    your modchip cant boot dvd backups, only cds.
     
  3. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So do you need a modchip to play burned DVD movies?
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    No, you don't need any mod to play burnt dvd movies. I said that your mod cant play burnt dvd games.
     
  5. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright thanks, cause my ps2 wont read the DVD movies im burning either but when my dad burnt me one it worked?
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    your either doing it wrong, or your ps2 doesn't like the dvd media you are using.
     
  7. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used the same media my dad was succesfull with and it didn't work. I followed all the tutorials and it dosn't work but the DVDs work on my roomates DVD player. Ive tried 3 different media's including fuji and verbatim
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    - or +r? Your laser could also be dirty.
     
  9. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i tried both + and - R. I dont think its my laser being dirty because when my dad burnt me a copy it worked on it. But when i used my burner and burnt a copy on the same media it wouldn't read it. It says disc read error
     
  10. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    does your dads copy still work on it? Also, you should be using 4x dvd-r media burnt at 1 or 2x.
     
  11. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes my dad's copy still works. Im using verbatim 8x and burning at the lowest speed teh disk can which is 4x
     
  12. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    did he use a different burner to burn it? Why not have him try backing up a ps2 game for you.
     
  13. hammester

    hammester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep we both have the same burner its a plextor 716A.
     
  14. mingster

    mingster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does anyone get the 'now loading' appearing during actual gameplay, and having to wait for the computer to load up the bit of the road that I'm just about to drive into??? this is driving me insane, i have no idea what the problem is. can anyone help?
     
  15. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what brand media did you use and what speed did you burn at?
     
  16. mingster

    mingster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    From DVD Identifier, it says Ritek g05, and made by Ritek. I burnt it at 2X with an NEC 2510 with DVD Decrypter.

    2X seems to be the slowest i can actually get the drive to write at, no matter which program I use. Hmm..
     
  17. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    only 2x is probably because g05 is 8x media.
     
  18. mingster

    mingster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, I'll dump the G05s. Are G04s just as good? That is, apart from the speed issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2005
  19. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i use g04's and have no problems
     
  20. PS2psp

    PS2psp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey dude u can use Dvd-R but not that perticular one
    .
     

Share This Page