1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Can't get "Phantom of Inferno" to run.

Discussion in 'PS2' started by RidiculousName, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Phantom - Phantom of Inferno is a DVD game. The game came with a list of DVD players it was "successfully tested for functionality" with. It says the "Sony Playstation 2" is included. My slim PS2 and my "fat" PS2 are the only dvd players I own that might've been able to run it. However, none of them work.

    my PS2 models are:
    SCPH-30001 (the fat one)
    SCPH-77001

    The game was released in 2002. It's in my region (NTSC), and it's on a DVD-9. I don't know much about this stuff, so please let me know you need more information.

    I'm hoping someone will tell me how I can fix this, or what version of PS2 I need to buy.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017
  2. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    List of dvd players ? ain't it a ps2 disc
     
  3. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    "Phantom - Phantom of Inferno is a DVD game."

    It's a DVD
     
  4. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    You won't need another ps2.
    You miss understand.I wasn't wanting to know if its a cd or dvd,i wanted to know if it was a ps2 game.Your original post is some what confusing when you say
    "The game came with a list of DVD players" & "It says the "Sony Playstation 2 is included"


    So i'll assume you mean its a ps2 game that ain't working
    1-Do other ps2 games you have work
    2-if yes is the phantom game a retail or copied disc
    3-If retail then its pretty much the dvd drive being the issue & possibly the laser
    4-If 3 is the case then you'll need to softmod it,which is real easy for the fat
    5- do you have the network adapter for the fat




    View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOd_1DYsIQg&list=PL40ShUVngiVOB5Q1xu2z-YLekmTsuokpV&index=29&t=316s


    If you have no IDE drives there is a kit that can covert the network adapter from IDE to SATA & is a trusted site,i have also bought one as others have at TIZ
    http://www.theisozone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=49420
     
    RidiculousName likes this.
  5. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks for responding.

    It's a game designed on a DVD. It is not a PS2 game. A PS2 is simply one of the few DVD players it is verified to run on.

    Here is a link to the product site on Amazon:
    https://www.amazon.com/Phantom-Infe...1502907738&sr=8-1&keywords=phantom+of+inferno
    I've tried two regular PS2 games with the fat PS2. Growlanser: Generations didn't work with it, but Dark Cloud 2 did.

    It is a retail disc.

    The PS2 doesn't have a network adapter.

    Please let me know what I can do.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Softmod either the fat or the slim ps2.Then rip the game to an iso & play from a hard drive.The phat ps2 has limited dvd reading ability for dvd+r type discs,the slim was better.If its at all possible i'd consider softmodding the fat as its easier & doesn't require opening it.Once softmodded you can play all games direct from the hdd without the need for the discs

    edit: i could test the game if you rip & upload it or try asking at theisozone for other recommendations,even ripping the game & making sure the ps2 executable is even there.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2017
  7. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    There is no PS2 executable..
     
  8. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    When viewing the ps2 iso (when its first opened & you haven't dug down into a folder/s) you should see these 2 files on the root (or put another way if you extracted the contents to the desktop you would see them appear).The first one will have a different number as its the game identity the ps2 uses,however the words slus is on all ps2 games,i'm pretty sure one of those is the executable,just in case you were looking for a .exe as that's a windows file not a ps2
    SLUS_210.90
    SYSTEM.CNF
     
  9. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I believe he is trying to play a dvd video based game. One that plays in a dvd player. in early 2000 there was a few games made to be played on a dvd player and you would use the remote to control the game. it never really caught on.

    Maybe the PS2 laser is just getting old/ dirty. have you tried cleaning the lens with a lens cleaner? I know my PS2 wont play certain DVDs due to the material used to make the disc is junk.

    Do you have a computer to try it on?
     
    RidiculousName likes this.
  10. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you, that's what I've been trying to say.

    I haven't tried cleaning it. I don't know anything about cleaning PS2 lasers.

    I've tried it on a computer, but since my computer and its optical drive were made much later than 2002, it didn't work.
     
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you don't have a lens cleaner for the PS2, you can use a Q-tip and rubbing alcohol.

    To clean your laser lens, use a q-tip and Rubbing Alcohol
    Clean in a gentle, but firmly circular motion for about 30 secs, then using dry end of q-tip, dry it for about 8 secs or so in the same manner.
     
    RidiculousName likes this.
  12. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The console seems to work with two PS2 games and a "normal" DVD so I really don't think it's an issue with cleaning.

    Does anyone know what fat PS2 models were released around 2001-2002? I can still return my fat PS2 for store credit.
     
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2017
    RidiculousName likes this.
  14. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you!

    Is there ANY difference between the SCPH-30000 and SCPH-39000? I'm curious because the writer says "there's no big difference" but it seems like they don't have a good grasp of English.
     
    smokyrain likes this.
  15. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I believe the laser on the SCPH 39001 was better.
     
    RidiculousName likes this.
  16. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks!

    If anyone has any experience with this game, please let me know what you got it to work on.

    I'll look at how to open the fat PS2 to clean the lens.
     
  17. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    RidiculousName likes this.
  18. RidiculousName

    RidiculousName Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks! I didn't know there was a specific PS2 version. My DVD version says it will run on PS2 still, so I think I'll look into cleaning my PS2 lens first. It doesn't seem like the pawn I went to would be able to tell if I opened the case anyway.
     
  19. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes. I showed you that as well because if a PC has trouble reading a DVD, then the PS2 may not have any better luck, even if you clean the laser
    There are good videos on cleaning the laser, and be careful when removing the cover, as there is a ribbon cable attached.


    Good Luck with it
     
    RidiculousName likes this.
  20. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Growlanser Generations is a CD-based game, while Dark Coud 2 is on a DVD. Definitely a sign of the laser either being dirty or on it's way out. Try playing a PS1-game with it, to test if the problem isn't Growlanser Generations. If you can return the PS2, do it.
     
    RidiculousName likes this.

Share This Page