1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant get Swap Magic 3.8 to work

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Stumped75, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. Stumped75

    Stumped75 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K Im completely stumped. Ive looked all over read a ton of stuff and still I cant get this working for the life of me. Purchased Swap Magic 3.8-load it up. then I swap with HDLoader (burned CD) & click on "Normal" system reboots then tells me that I need a ligit ps2 disk. What the hell am I doing wrong?

    Can anyone help me out.. and also define what the "special" option is on the menue screen please.
     
  2. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. Stumped75

    Stumped75 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ummm yeah been there that's how I found out about SW. Have you gone there? it's about as useful as an udder on a bull.
     
  4. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    since that is a hdloader your trying to get working I take it your trying to using that with your fat ps2 and a hard drive? freemcboot and openps2loader are much better. use swapmagic to boot a usb jumpdrive with the noobpackage on it and install freemcboot to your memory card. you would be able to boot the openps2loader elf to install and play games from the harddrive. you can even install a swapmagic elf and a codebreaker elf for swapping other backups and playing games using cheats or even using esr to play ps2 discs that are patched with esr without swapping at all. go here and take a look around. make sure to look at the swapmagic part of the site.
     
  5. Stumped75

    Stumped75 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Tried that too, SM would load then black screen of death when it started to load from the USB stick. Either way got fed up of trying for the cheap way just broke down and now the unit is in getting a Modbo 4 chip installed. Thanks for the reply anyways.
     
  6. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    chip is always nice ^^ o even when you get your chip you should try and get freemcboot and openps2loader onto your memory card its nice running games from your harddrive and makes your system last a lot longer.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011

Share This Page