1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't Load Backup PS2 Grand Turismo 3 A-Type

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by PS2V10, Nov 1, 2004.

  1. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all:
    I finally got my PS2 last week and also received my Magic V modchip. After a full day of painful soldering, I managed to install the chip.

    I put in the original PS2 DVD (GT3) and it boots fine, no problem there.

    Next I put in my old original PSX CD, works good, no problem there.

    Next I put in the PSX backup CD, works fine, no problem there.

    Next I put in my PS2 backup DVD (which is the most important thing for me), and guess what, nothing loads :(((

    I was devastating and don't know what to do and hope that I am not doing the right sequence to load the PS2 backups.

    Please help!!!!!!!

    allan

    + Model: PS2 (V10 model 50001, not the new slim one)
    + Backup software: DVD Decriptor
    + ModChip: Magic V
    + Backup Type: DVD+R from HP (purple color)
    + successful loading procedure: In standby mode, PRESS and HOLD EJECT button for 3sec, insert disk, and PRESS EJECT to load.
     
  2. wong_c_fu

    wong_c_fu Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I noticed that you are using a DVD+R, try using a DVD-R disc instead, there are some systems out there that can't read DVD+R's.

    also, what speed are you burning at, try 1x speed just to be on the safe side.

    Another loading method would be this:
    1. start is the ps2 ON and the tray opened
    2. put the games in the tray, press and hold the RESET button until the tray closes and the PS2 turns OFF
    3. Press and hold the RESET button again till the PS2 turns ON, keep holding the RESET button until you see the "Sony Computer Entertainment" words, then release the RESET button

    See if any of those things help! Good luck!
     
  3. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wong_c_fu, thanks for your suggestion. I'll try that tonite. I did some research on the net and ran across some threads that said I should have no problem booting DVD+R disk with the V10 PS2.
     
  4. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    btw, i burned the DVD+R disk at 1x speed.
    thanks
     
  5. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wong_c_fu, I tried your method and it didn't work :(
    please any other suggestions?
     
  6. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    here's a copy/paste of the magic v boot instructions from the china magic web site

    With the disk assumed in the tray and the tray closed:

    • For PS2 games, power up normally from STANDBY with RESET button. A single tap is required.

    • For PS1 games & DVD Movies, power up from STANDBY with RESET button held until the blue EJECT light comes on; then release RESET and the disk will boot.

    • For turn OFF/SLEEP, power up from STANDBY with RESET button held until the logo/sounds comes on; then release RESET and the MagicV will be OFF/SLEEP.

    • Please turn off the PS2 (to standby) before changing Mode (PS1/PS2/DVD)
     
  7. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for your response devilhunt. I tried the method you listed for PS2 game:

    -with my backup PS2 game (a DVD+R disk) in the tray.
    -turn on machine using power switch in back and machine goes into standby mode
    -tap RESET button once

    ....and I heard the disk spins but nothing happens, the TV screen is black and the disk continue to spin....

    I retest the original PSX, PS2 and the backup PSX games, everything works!
    please help!!!

    btw, I order my Magic V chip from http://modchip.ca and I got the version with 2 check marks that suppose to work for both V9 and V10 systems.
     
  8. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    do you have any other backups to try just in case you got a bad burn also what brand of media are you using
     
  9. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    devilhunt, this is my first PS2 backup ever. The burn process went very smooth. I use DVD+R disk from HP with a purple-ish color. Also, my pre-modded PS2 plays a backup movie recorded on the same type of DVD+R disk using the same DVD recorder with the only difference is that the movie was burned using NERO while the PS2 backup I used DVD Decryptor. let me try to play my backup movie on the modded PS2 tonite and see what happens.
    thanks
     
  10. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yep! its working. So now it plays everything except my backup PS2.
     
  11. frankff

    frankff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Use Nero to make the PS2 backups, and try to use good media like Ridata. I do not know why people still use DVD Decrypter when Nero can do the job easier. You can even do a disc to disc copy with Nero and it will work, that's what I do and never had a problem.

    ***************************
    PS2 & Xbox Backups
    http://www.ps2backups.com/
    ***************************
     
  12. frankff

    frankff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ****removed - duplicate message ****
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2004
  13. PS2V10

    PS2V10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks frankff. The reason I used decryptor is that because for some reasons, Nero failed to do a DVD copy at the end of the burn. Let me figure out why that happen. will post result.
    thanks
     
  14. G_hitman

    G_hitman Guest

    Removed for stupidity
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2004

Share This Page