1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't load some pages... (GIF Image, 1x1 pixels)

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by aznikill, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ANYONE CAN HELP?!
     
  2. graceline

    graceline Guest

    Hi Anzikill!

    I was looking for answers in the Google and found yours today! Yes I have the same problem. Sigh. I called HP technician yesterday. They told me to reinstall IE. It still doesn't work.

    What kind of computer do you have? Mine is HP. My other computers (Dell and Apple) are working fine, no GIF image, 1x1 pixels. All same from one router. Strange

    Two weeks ago my hard drive was damaged. I had a new one replaced (I have a warranty). Had it restored. Then found out that I can't load some pages...GIF Image, 1x1 pixels just like yours.

    I am going to send this thread to my HP tech today. Hopefully they will solve the problem. I will get back to you. :)

    Graceline
     
  3. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Umm.. I use Dell, i think its because of what we installed on our computers..
     
  4. graceline

    graceline Guest


    Interesting. MY IE doesn't open up anymore. I am using Firefox now. Am still waiting to hear from HP tech. Be back.
     
  5. graceline

    graceline Guest


    Aznikill,

    here is the reply from hp tech below. I don't have windows xp bootable cd. I am asking my friends if they have it. Hope it works out for you. Pls let me know.

    Graceline

    This issue occurs due to following reasons:

    * Computer is booting from a non-bootable source.
    * Computer hard disk drive is not properly setup in BIOS.
    * Corrupt NTLDR and/or NTDETECT.COM file.
    * Misconfiguration with the boot.ini file.
    * Attempting to upgrade from a Windows 95, 98, or ME computer that is
    using FAT32.
    * New hard disk drive being added.
    * Corrupt boot sector / master boot record.
    * Seriously corrupted version Windows XP.
    * Loose or Faulty IDE/EIDE hard disk drive cable.

    There are some troubleshooting steps to resolve the issue. Please
    perform the procedure below:

    Step 1.

    *** Reset BIOS ***

    1. Restart the notebook.
    2. Tap the F2 key as soon as the HP logo appears.
    3. Using the arrow keys, navigate to Exit menu and select Get defaults
    values.
    4. Navigate to Exit menu and select Save Changes and Exit.

    Step 2.

    Perform the following steps to replace ntdetect.com and ntldr files
    from
    Windows XP OS CD.

    1. Insert the Windows XP bootable CD into the CD/DVD and restart the
    system.
    2. When prompted to press any key to boot from the CD, press any key.
    3. Once in the Windows XP setup menu press the "R" key to repair
    Windows.
    4. Log into your Windows installation by pressing the "1" key and
    pressing enter.
    5. You will then be prompted for your administrator password, just
    press
    enter key. (If you have changed the administrator password, then enter
    that password).
    6. Copy the below two files to the root directory of the primary hard
    disk. In the below example we are copying these files from the CD-ROM
    drive letter "D". This letter may be different on your computer.

    copy d:\i386\ntldr c:\
    copy ntdetect.com c:\

    NOTE: The drive 'D' is your DVD/CDRW drive assumming that you have
    only one partition that is 'C'. However, if you have multiple
    partitions
    such as C, D and E, then the drive letter of the DVD/CDRW drive may
    differ.

    7. Once both of these files have been successfully copied, remove the
    CD
    from the computer and reboot.

    I would like to inform you that Windows XP OS CD was not bundled with
    your notebook. You may obtain Windows XP OS CD from your relatives or
    friends. I apologize for any inconvenience that may caused.
     
  6. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Graceline, maybe I didn't read your post properly, but it sounds to me like the HP folks sent you the solution to a different problem from the one you actually have.

    You wrote,

    and later...

    You are having problems loading some web pages, right? Using Internet Explorer 6? From Windows? Have I got that right? And now you're having to use Firefox? From Windows, which therefore must be starting up, or you wouldn't be able to do that?

    But the email sent you by HP proposes that you

    These are the steps that one would take to cure a system that was hanging at startup, and was unable to boot Windows!

    Unless I have missed something, it won't do diddly for the problem that you have described above. It isn't even needed if Windows starts and you get to run programs. Sounds like some support center worker in Bombay or Manila or somewhere just working from a script and giving you the answer to the wrong problem.

    Did I miss something in your posts?
     
  7. graceline

    graceline Guest


    I used eliminator evidence, spyware doctor and registry mechanic to scan all and got bad results. Then deleted them all. Now IE wouldn't open up except Firefox. Yes still GIF image, 1x1 pixels. I feel that some virus got in and caused GIF image 1x1 pixels thing to show up. ??? After deleted all spywares, etc, only IE wouldn't open up.

    I even installed a new IE 7 and still get a message ' Internet Explorer can not display the webpage. Firefox is still working but still GIF image 1x1 pixels thing. Strange isn't it?

    I am waiting to hear more from the tech.

     
  8. graceline

    graceline Guest


    It works! I got my IE back and NO more GIF image 1x1 pixels thing.
    Here is the steps :( hope it will work for you)


    1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit in the Open box, and then click
    OK.
    2. Locate the following registry key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    3. Click + sign beside software and them locate "Microsoft".
    4. Click + sign beside "Microsoft" and locate Internet Explorer.
    5. Now click + sign beside Internet Explorer and locate Application
    compatibility.
    6. Right-click Application Compatibility, click New, and then click
    DWORD Value.
    7. Type Frontpg.exe, and then click OK to name the DWORD value.
    8. Double-click Frontpg.exe.
    9. In the Value data box, type 1, click OK, and then quit Registry


    * Non-Destructive recovery:

    1. Connect PC to the AC power adapter.
    2. Close all programs.
    3. Restart the notebook and press F11 during boot.
    4. The PC will restart and display a Welcome to PC Recovery message.
    Click OK to continue.
    5. On the System Recovery panel, click Next.

    * PC Recovery will display "Backing up user data and settings."
    * PC Recovery will begin recovering Windows XP and application files.
    * PC Recovery will begin recovering user data and settings.

    6. Upon completion, PC recovery will display "The PC Recovery was
    successfully completed. Click restart to restart your PC or click
    Turn Off to turn off the PC. Click Restart

    Good luck!




     
  9. graceline

    graceline Guest

    Guess What??

    I got the GIF image 1x1 pixels thing back! Unbelievable. I think it is Firefox. After I got Firefox back, can't load some pages and yes GIF image... thing again. I just sent a note to the tech and see if I can do the steps again. I am not going to try Firefox again unless the problem is solved. Wow! Why Firefox?
     
  10. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've tried it and my Internet Explorer doesn't hav the GIF Image error anymore. But, my Firefox still has it. Is there anyway to fix this?
     
  11. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I strongly suspect that this problem is caused by non-standard web pages that work fine with Internet Explorer, but which make Firefox bork. I would be interested if either of you could tell me what happens if you use Opera, a very good free browser. Unfortunately, many websites are only tested on IE, which does not adhere to the "pure" HTML standard, some websites even check for IE and deliberately return a 1x1 pixel GIF if another browser is detected.

    Sometimes sites that use redirection cause trouble.

    Also, some ad blocking software, popup stoppers, Firefox privacy settings, etc, will replace pages they deem to be unwanted with 1x1 pixel GIFS. Check the settings of any firewall software you have.

    I note that the sites the original poster mentioned are the type of adware infested sites I would not touch with a ten foot pole. Especially if they are bristling with IE "exploits".

    Also the problem can happen on badly written web pages with faulty Javascript.

    One hopes that the latest version (2.0.0.3) of Firefox is being used.
     
  12. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm using Firefox the latest one, my firewall has nothing to do with this, i've checked. I installed Opera and went to www.inboxdollars.com. The pictures won't load but in internet explorer, they do. When i login on www.inboxdollars.com, i get the (GIF Image, 1x1 pixels) error.
     
  13. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I can see that inboxdollars.com place in IE6, Firefox 2.0.0.3, and Opera 9.02.

    I'm sorry to inform you, you aren't going to get rich reading Email!
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2007
  14. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Umm... i also can't click on the "Sponsored Links" on the right hand side of the google search window. It brings me to (GIF Image, 1x1 pixels)
     
  15. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Why would you want to? You like reading ads? Oh yes I forgot. You do!

    have you got any adblocker software?

    Also, you should investigate the contents of your HOSTS file. You did say that a get-rich-quick website made you install a new one. This could be the cause of all your problems.

    C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\HOSTS

    Open it in Notepad. Copy the contents and post here for me to look at.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2007
  16. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    A person already told me to replace my host with this one

    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    # For example:
    # Permit this.
    127.0.0.1 localhost # designate 127.0.0.1 as the local host
     
  17. bkaneweb

    bkaneweb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Try disabling any anti-virus software you have and refresh the page. I kept getting the same error until I disabled my Kaspersky internet suite and was able to get to the page after doing that.
     
  18. aznikill

    aznikill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    WOW! I CAN'T BELIEVE IT!! It was kaspersky.. Anyone know how to fix it?
     
  19. Indochine

    Indochine Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Kapersky obviously believes, like me, that you should not go to those sites. Have you wondered why? I keep telling you about adware and spyware, but you don't listen. OK they might be OK, but I think that saying "My security program blocks this site, so I'll turn off the security" is maybe not the wisest thing to do?

    It's like saying "that pesky fire alarm keeps making a noise whenever I mess with gasoline and matches. How can i fix it?"

     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2007
  20. bkaneweb

    bkaneweb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't think Kaspersky is trying to block these pages because they are unsafe, but they are instead having trouble redirecting past the tracker page for the links. The page doesn't just show up for "unsafe" sites, it's all that track clicks through services like Google's ads and various survey sites, etc. There could possibly be a way to configure Kaspersky to redirect the sites, but I'm not sure.
     

Share This Page