1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't run backup after wiikey installation.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by shinseito, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed the Wiikey but I can't play backups. My original still works. My wii works as if my chip was never installed. I use -R and +R disc. This is weird... Well I have pics of my chip installed. I also tried formatting my wii but nothing happened besides me losing my internet channel. I burn the setup disc also and it doesn't work with both -R and +R disc.



    <img src="http://img107.imageshack.us/img107/1056/dscf5495ak2.jpg" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us"/><br/>By <a target="_new" href="http://profile.imageshack.us/user/shinseito">shinseito</a>, shot with <a target="_new" href="http://profile.imageshack.us/camerabuy.php?model=FinePix+Z1&make=FUJIFILM">FinePix Z1</a> at 2007-07-24


    <img src="http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/3066/dscf5504ek5.jpg" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us"/><br/>By <a target="_new" href="http://profile.imageshack.us/user/shinseito">shinseito</a> at 2007-07-24


    <img src="http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/7284/dscf5508rq4.jpg" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us"/><br/>By <a target="_new" href="http://profile.imageshack.us/user/shinseito">shinseito</a>, shot with <a target="_new" href="http://profile.imageshack.us/camerabuy.php?model=FinePix+Z1&make=FUJIFILM">FinePix Z1</a> at 2007-07-24
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2007
  2. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also forgot to mention that I have a 2.0U Wii. Should I also update it?
     
  3. renickdp

    renickdp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you used the setup disk?
    What dvds are you using?
     
  4. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes I used the Setup disc. I'm using Sony -R and Maxell +R. I updated my wii to 2.2U and things still are the same. Nothing works except originals as if there was no chip in my wii.
     
  5. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Should I get a verbatim -R and +R disc. Do they really make a differences? I burned mario party 8 at 1x with my maxell +R still didn't work.
     
  6. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I seen people with this problem and I haven't seen anyone solve it or they don't post how they fix it. Wish someone could reply.
     
  7. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Your installation looks OK. I guess it is the media. So try some Verbatims and post results.
     
  8. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Whats so special about verbatim and what type do I get? A -R or a +R?
     
  9. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Verbatims have a higher quality AZO dye. Plus the ones I have have VideoGard which really protects the DVD.

    So if you buy cheap DVDs then you'll get what you pay for.

    Some Wiis work better with -R or +R, you'll just have to test them both.
     
  10. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried -R and +R DVD Disc with the games and setup. It didn't work. I use a Sony -R and Maxell +R. None of them work...
     
  11. pooguzzle

    pooguzzle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all. I'm new to this forum. I also installed the wiikey and it did not play backups but played regular games just fine.

    I did figure out a workaround for this. It may or may not work for you.
    I have the standard american version Wii.
    The version of my console is 2.2U
    Here's what I have to do to play a game.

    1. Take out any DVDs that are in your Wii.
    2. Unplug the system power(pull out the cord in the back just for a couple seconds and plug it back in)
    3. Now your wii power button in the front should be RED.
    4. Put in a backup DVD game in the slot and let the wii start itself. Give it a few seconds and you should see it show up and be able to click on the game.

    I do not know why this works for me, I tend to think I did not receive an actual wiikey but a fake one.

    I burn backups using IMGburn set to 6x. I have used 4 different types of DVD-r and never had a problem using any of them. I have used Sony, Verbatim, Memorex, and some other off the wall brand.

    Please let me know if this works for you.
     
  12. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I wish to god this would work but it seem to fail for me. I might waste another 10 dvd disc burning the same games on lower speed or higher. I use Nero and Imgburn. My wii was still unable to read it. This is really ticking me off...
     
  13. falcon209

    falcon209 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    From the sounds of it it could be your solder job (I would recommend reinstalling your WiiKey)

    OR

    You could have a fried/D.O.A./fake WiiKey that never worked to begin with.
     
  14. shinseito

    shinseito Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I might try to resolder it. Because it a real wiikey. I got the genuine sticker with it.
     
  15. bladezero

    bladezero Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also got the same type of issue you have, did you get it fixed....did you give up?
    I have 2.2U wii
    checked all my points with a meter beep test
    using rawdump tried Nero and ImgBurn my slowest speed is 4X
    Tried Stapples +R DVD and Verbatim -R DVD
    Boot disk and backups will not work but originals do.

    I tired doing what Pooguzzle said and it does not work for me.

    Anyone have the easy button?
     
  16. bladezero

    bladezero Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also tried burning at 1X and still no go for back ups or boot disc.

    off topic question anyone having issues with Mario Strikers Charged on rawdump 2.0? Mine gets to about 1:30 of 3:00 hours and then I get an error..... I think it might be my HP GDR-8164B.
     
  17. bladezero

    bladezero Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    OMG sorry to waste your guys time i have a D2B chip set I DIDNT EVEN SEE IT. Damn my bad eyes. Back to the forms and I'll let you know what happens to my wii.
     
  18. bladezero

    bladezero Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

Share This Page