1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't run freshly burned DVD on player?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ILJester, Jan 21, 2005.

1. ILJester

ILJester Member

Hello everyone. I am kind of new to this and just successfully ripped my first DVD, thanks to the great guides on this site. It runs great on my PC with no problems when I pop it in.

The problem I am having is it will not run on my TV's DVD player. It does not even recognize that there is a DVD in the tray. I have an older Onkyo 6-Disc DVD player. Is this the problem? I just don't want to run out and buy a new DVD player if it still is not going to work.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance,

-ILJester

2. dvdripdvd

dvdripdvd Regular member

which programs are you using to rip and burn?

3. ILJester

ILJester Member

I used DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink to do the rip. I also used brand-new Memorex dvd-rw media.

Last edited: Jan 21, 2005
  4. dvdripdvd

dvdripdvd Regular member

in order to have a successful rip/burn, you must have room on your hd, no programs or no major programs running on your computer, a defragged hd, and a good disc to burn---memorex not recommended.

5. ILJester

ILJester Member

What type/kind of media would you recommend?

6. Veblin

Veblin Active member

Why don't to go to the DVD-R media forum and see for yourself what other people recommend.

Discussion about various DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R and DVD+RW disc brands, their quality, etc.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/forum_view.cfm/47

7. hardcandy

hardcandy Guest

When you ripped the dvd, did you mean you ripped it to your hard drive and then copied the video files to a dvd? Is there a separate VIDEO_TS and AUDIO_TS (should be empty) folder on the dvd?
    Something to check.