1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant Shrink DVD

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Pete917, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Pete917

    Pete917 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a DVD that is 5gb and need to shrink it to a standard DVD. The slider in DVD shrink wont let me shrink to fit. Any ideas why it wont let me do that?
     
  2. gurnard

    gurnard Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hi :)

    open shrink
    click...edit (top left)
    click...preferences
    target size...custom..set to 4360m
    open disc
    drag and drop Main movie only
    click back up

    here's how i do
    movie only with shrink and decrypter.(you can use nero/imgburn instead of decrypter)
    you will need anydvd running in the background to get rid of protection's
    anydvd download (gives you a free trial)

    http://www.slysoft.com/en/anydvd.html?aid=50022

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Brother gurnard, with such clear, easy to understand directions, even I can do it! Good Show!
     
  4. gurnard

    gurnard Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    iluvendo hi :)
    just for that i'll add you to my buddy list (like the pics as well in yours)lol
     
  5. Pete917

    Pete917 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    awesome instructions. thank you.

    Problem is, it still doesnt shrink to fit on a single layer DVD. and other thoughts?

    The movie Im having trouble with is "Reign over me" if that helps or if anyone else has had problems with it.
     
  6. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Use reauthor and do movie only
    or you can reshrink the previously shrunken file ( do shrink twice )
     
  7. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Shrink it twice. 1st time,do it normal,but when you click backup-make sure the Select Folder for temp files-you may want to name that file to your movie. After double checking rest of backup options,click ok. It'll tell you size too big and may not fit. Just ignore it and click ok. After the analyzing,encoding:If you have dual drives,remove the empty disc during the analyzing. Single drive,just abort when it asks for blank disc.

    Then open up dvd shrink,open files,locate that movie.Open it up and it'll do another quick analysis. Click Backup.Then set the Select folder for Temporary files to a similar name of that movie. Then proceed again. It'll compress it the rest of the way to fit.

    Make sure you use the AEC enhancement like Max Sharpness,or Max Smoothness for because you'll lose some quality.

    Make sure you have plenty of empty HD space because you'll have 2 folder approx 4.25 gbs each. Get rid of the 1st folder after you are done. Use that 2nd folder for extra copies or delete it if you don't need it.

    5 gbs should easily be compressed the 1st time.I haven't done Reign over me.Even the Lord of the Rings trilogy of 3+ hrs movies each,didn't show any red. I have seen very few movies where dvd shrink had a red sliding bar for too big.

    But,some of the newer encrypted flicks are doing some screwy things to dvd shrink. I've had a couple movies that have red in the slider bar before and after reauthoring.. Dvd shrink shows Automatic,90 or 99. According to the red sliderbar,it's too big because red is bad.
    According to shrinks setting,it's ok and needs minimal compression. I've seen this 2-3 times in the last 4 weeks. 1st time,I ran into it,I ran it through shrink twice,but 2nd shrinking,dvd shrink said 100% so no compression was on it. The 2nd time I ran into it, I ignored the red slider bar and went with shrinks readout of automatic,90%.

    The false red sliderbar can definitely screw up some people.Go with dvd shrink's compression %.If it tells you 50% or lower,it may very well need shrunk twice. If in doubt,use a DVD-/+ RW disc, LOL.

    Anybody else noticing the unusualy Red sliderbars but shrink shows minimal compression %?
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
  8. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @gurnard

    agree with iluvendo, such explicit instructions (with illustrations, mind you) deem some mad props. Good show.

    @pete917

    just follow gurnards instructions to the T and you should have no issues.

    BTW, what's the title you'r trying to nail down?

    And i see that Father iluvendo has also given props, so the advice must be good!

     
  9. gurnard

    gurnard Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hi :)
    @saugmon
    i can't say as i have taken a lot off notice...i'll do so next time i shrink

    i must agree that 5 gig should be a doddle...but thinking about what Pete917 says
    if he was only using the start/finish frames sliders then he could still end up with the movie being larger than the 4.38Gig.
     

Share This Page