1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Capturing VHS cassette movie onto hard disk

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by 2K00LRiaz, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. 2K00LRiaz

    2K00LRiaz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I have a VHS cassette movie and would like to capture this onto my hard disk and then covert it into an avi or mpeg file so i can then watch it in media player.
    Does anyone know how i can do this?
    How much hard disk space would i need to capture a 91min film?

    Thanks, Riaz
     
  2. sktron

    sktron Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Requirements:
    Hardware: Video Card with Composite Video In or S-Video In
    alternatively a TV Capture Card.
    SoundCard with LineIn for sound recording
    Software: VirtualDub or similar program
    Compression Codecs: DivX, Intel Indeo 5.10; Most MS OS's have some installed. DivX can be downloaded.

    40 Mins with DivX require about 1GB of space at 720x576 @25 fps and a bitrate setting of 4500Kb/s. Experiment with BitRate to reduce space requirement.

    CPU requirements: P3 500MHz for 320x240 @25 fps
    P4 2Ghz for 720x576 @25 fps
    AMD CPU's ? not sure but MHz equivalent should have same performance.
    Memory: 512 MB
    HD: plenty of free space and a disk without much fragmentation as that will cause greater i/o and CPU for writing the data, hence frame drops.

    Have fun.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2003
  3. sleuth

    sleuth Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, I am trying to record the VCR to my computer hard disk. I am using a WINTV card. There is a scart connection from ther VCR and a line in and video connection at the PC end.

    I am able to capture the video with no problems. There is audio coming through BUT I have to have all the volume controls up to maxium on the PC and Mic boost on as well to hear a farly low level of sound.

    Does anyone have any ideas what the problem could be?
     
  4. lannigan

    lannigan Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are your speakers amplified. I mean, do they have a power on button or are they selfamplified from the pc line out.

    I had this same problem with hp speakers I had that weren't amplified.

    You can also try to get new wdm drivers for your card.

    What kind of sound card and what kind of speakers do you have?
     
  5. sleuth

    sleuth Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Many thanks for the reply.

    I have amplified speakers. They are Cambridge Works ( 5 speakers)

    The Sound card, I believe is a Realtek AC97 Audio.

    As an experiemt I linked the VCR to the PC using just the TV coaxial. Althouth the picture was'nt too good I did get audio.

    I'll check out the WDM drivers.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Jiby

    Jiby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    I have TV card Pinnacle Pro Rave and I'm tryin to capture from VHS to my hard disk. I experienced mainly two trouble while tryin to do it, which is
    1) the picture is apearing only in black and white
    2) I get no sound from the Video.

    The sound card Im using is Sis 7018 wave and has a line in, to which I have connected the external audio cable from the TV card. The only input thatI have given into the TV card is the Video cable only, though. Can someone help me figure out how to tackle the situation.
    Cheers
     
  7. Doc409

    Doc409 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    for Sleuth...
    Did you try going into your Windows Control Panel and try adjusting the recording level? Depending on the operating system, you would find this under icons "Multimedia" in Win98, or "Sounds and Multimedia" in W2k. XP would be similar.
     
  8. venprods

    venprods Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Jiby,
    Check your input option on software which go with the capture card.

    If you used RCA or BNC connector to connect between VHS tape player and your capture card, you must select source "composite input" on the capture software. If you used Y/C cable, you must select the source to "Y/C". Not following this, you will get B/W picture only.
     

Share This Page