1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

casino royale dual layer dilemma

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by jaynecobb, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. jaynecobb

    jaynecobb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi all.

    hopefully someone can help me with this. i have looked at other casino royale threads but i cannot find any entries that are similar to my problem.

    i want to have a dual layer copy of the movie. right now the best i can get with shrink is 70%.

    i was able to rip casino royale with ripit4me (1.7) and i used fixvts (1.6) after it was done.

    now i have opened the file in dvdshrink and burned a copy to a dual layer disc (thus preserving the quality) but the disc wont play anything but trailers on my dvd players (ps3, and panasonic stand alone. 360 wont even load the disc).

    i am using fujifilm dvd+r dl media. i have never had another problem burning something dual layer before.

    i have a sony vaio pcv-rx670 pentium 1.8 with windows xp. my burner is a sony dru700 i think.

    thanks in advance to all that help!!!
     
  2. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You dont need to use shrink when burning a DL disk.
    however if u want to personalize the dvd i guess its easiest to use shirnk for those who dont like to use VOBblanker

    What burning program are you using?

    What i suggest is after the Ripit4Me is done cleaning up the vobs, exit the program and burn with IMGburn

    DL imgBurn HERE

    Here is a guide for burning Video_ts folder too
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/Guides/alkohol_guide5.html
     
  3. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Use RipIt4Me to rip in Full DVD. Close Shrink and use the HD files. Open ImgBurn and select Build under Mode. In Build under OutPut select Device (your burner). Browse to the folder and select it. Then click the calculator under Information and take the best layer break (note star colors). Have a DL in the burner and click the Icon to start the build and burn job. It's about that easy. I don't think I left anything out.
     
  4. jaynecobb

    jaynecobb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks for all the help. i tried the img burn last night, and burned a coaster. not sure if i actually did everything ok. i'll try again tonight.

    thanks again. i love these forums and the people that haunt theses grounds. you make everything so much easier!!
     
  5. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome.

    I just followed the method I outlined for a backup of Casino Royale. If a good layer break is set and ImgBurn builds the ISO it burns, then I don't understand where you went wrong. ImgBurn is good for setting up and burning DL.
     
  6. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You could post a burn log to see if we can find what the problem is?
     
  7. jaynecobb

    jaynecobb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks everyone for the help. i managed to get ripit4me and imgburn to work.

    i really love this site and its members. thanks again!!!
     
  8. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well in my opinion the fastest and cleanest way to do a DL backup with free programs would be this.

    1) Rip the entire disk in ISO mode with DVDFab Decrypter
    2) Burn the ISO with ImageBurn

    This is just simple and fast.
     
  9. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    bbmayo
    That might work for some releases, but poses a problem with others. If the files are locked in an ISO, they can't be processed for compliance, which is sometimes necessary. It appears you also forgot that DVDFab Decrypter rips in file mode and then creates an ISO. So what's the difference in ripping the files, doing whatever compliance processing is necessary, if any, and then let ImgBurn create the ISO for burning instead of DVDFab Decrypter doing it.
     
  10. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Pacman,

    I see all of your points and they might be valid except for the fact that I have never had a problem doing any DL disk that way. I just did Casino Royal with that process and had no issues. Now if you come across a movie that might have issues then I would just rip in file mode, process with FixVTS and then build and burn with image burn. However I haven't seen a movie that doesn't work the other way, and as I have always said before the simpler for people the better as less can go wrong. :) Just my 2 cents
     
  11. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    To each his own method. From what you say, it differs very little. You have DVDFab ripping in file mode and creating an ISO, I rip in file mode, making sure the DVD files are compliant and then create the ISO in ImgBurn and burn. Had you tried Saw 3 when it first came avialable, you would have seen what I was talking about. For users who don't mind waiting for their software to be updated, there's usually fewer issues. I don't see the extra room for error that you mentioned. I use 2 programs to get the job done and you use 2, RipIt4Me + ImgBurn and DVDFab Decrypter + ImgBurn. I've had no problems with my method either, so I suppose they're both good. ;) I guess it comes down to user choice .
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  12. XweAponX

    XweAponX Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You don't need to bother with FixVTS and all that poop.

    Use Ripit4me: Tell it to make an ISO Image.

    DO NOT use 1-Click mode. Use Wizard Mode.

    the 1-Klik mode makes too many assumptions that are wrong and you get a coaster image.

    Use wizard mode and that way it will run the steps ONE at a time.

    First it will get the Protected Sectors List for DVD Decryptor. Then it adds the PSL to Decrypter and it starts ripping... DIRECTLY to an ISO Image.

    Now: Once the image is finished, which takes about 45 minutes to an hour and a half (For you it will be longer, but thats ok- Just let it finish)...

    You download http://imgburn.com -->IMGBURN.

    Load the ISO image into IMGburn. IMGburn will figure out EXACTLY where thge layer break will be for best playing.

    The other thing I wated to tell ya, is that all of your DVD plaing devices are not designed for this. Go to Radio Shack, buy a CHEAP DVD Player... Make sure it can also play Jpegs, Mpegs, MP3s, Photo CD,s and CDs. Get the cheepest one you can find, 40 bucks. Do not spend any mroe than 80 bucks on a DVD player and DO NOT buy an expensive brand.

    in THERSE cases: The expensive brands all have fucntions that prevent ANY burned disks to read. That sucks donkey balls. But the inexpensive brands, will play ANYTHING cos they were m,ade in Asia which has a huge market for players that play every media format in the universe.

    I have an Aspire player now... I used to have a SmartHome or somehting CYBERhome... It was really good and really small, and there was NO burned moovie that falied to play for me.
     
  13. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @ XweAponX
    Today is the 5th, you're too late for April Fool's Day this year. What you noted is inaccurate to say the least. FixVTS was included till the later version(s) of RipIt4Me. Then the FixVTS code was incorporated into the RI4M program. So the author thought FixVTS was necessary. But then, why would the author of the program know anything? Obviously someone wasn't paying attention. The 1-Click mode makes no assumptions. It goes through the entire process of ripping, cleaning and processing for compliance. It is the same as doing all the steps from the wizard without skipping any. Wizard is mostly for those who like to push buttons or experienced enough to know what can be left out. If the user knows the release has light encryption, the DVD wouldn't need to be opened in RI4M in the first place. I use the 1 click mode all the time and have yet to fail in doing a backup with the RI4M output. Ripping in ISO locks the files in an image folder (ISO) where the FixVTS software can't access them for compliance processing. Ripping in ISO works okay with releases not needing compliance processing (they didn't need to be opened in RI4M anyway), but the backup fails with those that do. Unless the movie is a couple years old or you have software like AnyDVD to check the protection, it's best to spend a few minutes and process them all. A handy feature of the last RI4M is the skip to Shrink in 1-Click which tells the user the copy protection is light enough for Shrink to handle alone.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2007

Share This Page