1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CD rom back up

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Truckpark, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Happy New Year all.
    Have another question. Bought War Hammer 40K for the kids at Christmas, and have got a bit addicted to it myself (sad). Problem is they are fed up with me pinching Disc 1 all the time to play it. I did try copying the disc using Nero 6, but when ever i use it it says it cannot work on "back up" copies. Is there a way around this?
     
  2. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Many thanks, will let you know how i get on.
     
  4. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not good news, i have tried Alcohol 120% and blindwrite, with no success. Could i be doing something wrong.
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What make/model burner are you using?
     
  6. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    What were your settings that you used with Alcohol 120%?

    Hey -Nephilim- I reserected my Liteon and it breezes through Safedisc with ease.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2005
  7. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK> In answer to the first question, i have a Pioneer DVD RW DVR-107D which i am using to "read", and a TEAC CD-W524E which i am using to "write".
    In answer to the second question, i am not totally sure as i just tried to do it with the minimum amount of changes and used the copy wizard, same thing with blindwrite.
    I am having ago with cloneCD. For this i have said the source is a "protected PC game" and that the target is a "game cd".
    Clone CD just finished and that doesnt work either.
     
  8. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Good news on the Lite-On geestar :)

    @ truckpark

    Neither of your burners are EFM capable so your best bet will be to use Alcohol 120% and it's emulation features. I'd recommend setting the read and write speeds to 4X for best results.
     
  9. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    also when you make the image with Alcohol set the Datatype to Securom*NEW (V4.x/5.x) this should get you going
     
  10. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks guys, will give it a go when i finish work.
     
  11. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry to say it didnt work again. Do you have any more ideas please???
     
  12. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    define "didn't work" If you were getting a bunch of disc read errors with Alcohol 120% then this is totaly normal.

    Im assuming your using AL120%

    What program are using this time around?
     
  13. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am using the trial download of Alcohol 120%:-Alcohol120_trial_1_9_2_1705.exe
    When i say "it didnt work", the copying of the disc went fine, but when i use it it still says it needs the original disc and not a backup copy.
    Th weird thing is, when i look at the disc in "my computer" it call it "NEEDS EMULATION".
     
  14. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    your in luck my good man and a very easy fix :)

    Open Alcohol 120%/select Emulation on the left hand side in the options box/check all three boxs (just to be safe/press OK and start your game.
     
  15. Truckpark

    Truckpark Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Geestar. Works perfect.
     
  16. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Glad all worked out for ya.

    come back and visit, we're glad to have you :)
     

Share This Page