1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cd-rom drives wont show up. Help Please!!!

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by ragde, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. ragde

    ragde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well i need help putrting back my Cd-rom drives (two drives). Just all of a sudden they stoped showing up in my computer. So, I went to the Device mananger and they appear but they have a question mark and can't update the drivers it say something about Hving problems to inslled the drivers. Even the virtual drive are gone and with the question mark on the Divice Manager. Somebody I need help, Please!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    remove drives from device manager, restart windows so it can load its drivers. post result
     
  3. ragde

    ragde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That didn't work. Still put the name of the drive but it's doesn't recognize it and I can't upcate driver because it say a problem was encountered
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is there an exclamtiom mark on the secondary ide controller
     
  5. ragde

    ragde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is only exclamation mark in both drive I have. Even if I anable the Daemon tool virtual drive the exclamation mark comes on the vitual drives too.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    physically disconnect 1 drive at a time to see if exclamation mark disappears
     
  7. cesmode

    cesmode Guest

    make sure you unplug, not just turn it off, your computer before dettaching any hardware.
     
  8. ragde

    ragde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that didn't work either. I think I'm going to reinstall Windows again for the 5th time now. I'll wait a bit to see if I can find the way. If you have answaers please post them.
     
  9. deadshane

    deadshane Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had a problem like this working on a persons comp before. Here is a copy of my chat with tech support on it, I hope it helps you (slightly edited...):

    Shalini Gopal
    Here are the steps to be followed:


    Shalini Gopal
    1. Click Start.
    2. Click Run.
    3. In the "Open" field type REGEDIT.
    4. Click OK.
    5. Click "File" in the menu bar.


    Shalini Gopal
    6. Click "Export" from the drop down menu this will open a new box.
    7. Click the down arrow beside "Save In" and select "Local Disk (C:)".
    8. In the File Name field type BACKUP.REG.
    9. Verify that under the ?Export Range?, that the radio button is beside "All".


    Shalini Gopal
    10. Click Save.


    Shalini Gopal
    11. Click the plus sign (+) beside HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
    12. Click the plus sign (+) beside System.
    13. Click the plus sign (+) beside CurrentControlSet.
    14. Click the plus sign (+) beside Control.
    15. Click the plus sign (+) beside Class.


    Shalini Gopal
    16. In the left hand window pane click on {4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
    to select that key.
    17. In the right hand window pane select the UpperFilters registry key and press
    the delete key on the keyboard.
    18. Confirm with an OK.


    Shalini Gopal
    19. In the right hand window pane select the LowerFilters registry key and press
    the delete key on the keyboard.
    20. Confirm with an OK.
    21. Click the "X" in the upper right hand corner of the Registry Editor window
    to close it.

    done.

    hope it works!
     
  10. ragde

    ragde Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you very much it worked perfectly
     
  11. 93940

    93940 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    deadshane,


    Thank you so much for that instruction it was a life saver after a week of trying to figure this thing out.
    what was exactly wrong at the first place if you don't mind explaining thanks a million.

    Best wishes and regards
     
  12. deadshane

    deadshane Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had a comp that had that problem and tried all sorts of things to try and fix it.... finaly I tried tech support at Compaq and they coached me through it....
     

Share This Page