1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cd r's have slight crackle.

Discussion in 'Audio' started by ste451, Mar 15, 2003.

1. ste451

ste451 Member

hi there!
    i am new to the process of burning my own cds as i have only just got a new computer with a cd rw drive
    i am using windows media player to do my copies ( i know this might be a bit basic but as i am an amateur i wanted to keep it simple!)

i am writing the cds at 16x and they are working fine with no jumping or skipping but when i am listening to music there is a crackling sound that goes with the sounds of the instuments or voices that are at higher volume.
    i have tried a few things to stop this but to no avail, the prob seems to lie with the stage of copying where you copy the original cd to the hardrive because i have played the album from the media library before i copy it to the blank cdr and the crackling is evident.
    so i am wondering if anyone has any advice for me please note that the noise is not very loud but it is not present on the original cd.
    would using one of the copiers like nero or easy cd cure the prob?

anyway i would really be gratefull for some advice from you experts!

cheers

system
    athlon xp 2000+
    256ddr
    radeon 9000 64mb pro
    lg cd re writer
    60gig 7200 rpm hard disk

2. Shoey

Shoey Guest

I really can't answer your question, but I know who can. The auhtor of EAC (Exact Audio Copy). Use this program and print out the guide to get familar with the program, considered to be one of the most highly recommended programs for burnin' audio.

EAC: http://www.exactaudiocopy.de/
    EAC guide: http://www.ping.be/satcp/tutorials.htm
    You'll also need to download Lame 3.93 (mp3 encoder) if you wan't to store mp3's on your hd.

Shoey

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2003
  3. piano632

piano632 Regular member