1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CD-RW problems - help for a novice please!

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by wads, Sep 9, 2004.

1. wads

wads Member

Hi,

Sorry if these are really basic/stupid questions, but please bear with me as I'm a novice when it comes to burning CDs.

I have a CD Re-writer drive - the info on it is:
    IDE-CD R/RW 4x4x24
    Write Speed : 4x600kb/sec
    Read Speed : 24x3600 kb/sec
    Firmware Rev: 1.08
    Address : 1:1:0

I don't burn many CDs, but when I have in the past (using Roxio DirecCD) everything was working fine until I recently bought some new blank CD-RW discs (Packard Bell CD-RW 12x Speed 700mb capacity).

Now, on the CD Info page, it says
    . I tried putting a previously burnt CD-RW disc which says 4x guaranteed 650mb/74 mins and it read it ok. When I tried to re-format it, instead of taking the usual 50 odd minutes, it took over [bold]8 hours![/bold] although it eventually worked and I could drag files from my C: drive onto the CD.

So here are my questions:
    1. Why are the 12x speed CDs incompatible? I asked when I bought the discs whether they would work with my drive and was told that they would write at 4x speed - it just means that, depending on the drive, it can write up to 12x speed if you have the capability. Is that true? Would it work if I bought CD-RW 4x discs?

2. Why did it suddenly take more than 8 hours to format a disc it had successfully previously burnt? Does that mean there’s something wrong with the hardware?

Any help/explanation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

2. Jeanc1

Jeanc1 Guest

The CD writer you have on your PC is able to burn at 4X -- irregardless of the media being at 12X RATED -- it will burn at its maximum speed of 4X.
    You can always get an exchange for that media 12X -- try a different brand -- older drives were critical as to what you fed them ~~ smiles.