1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

--Celeron D--

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by p4_tt, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. p4_tt

    p4_tt Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    A pal of mine just got a brand new Intel Celeron D 2.6 GHz processor boxed. He has an Asus Black pearl board that supports 400/533FSB and when he sticks the Celeron D (533) in the pc beeps like sirens about five times indicating there’s a problem, I tried sticking it in my MSI board and it works fine, I stuck an odd P4 1.6GHZ (400) and it works fine in the Black Pearl. Anybody have any clues??
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check asus site for bios update & cpu compatibility for motherboard
     
  3. p4_tt

    p4_tt Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ya but the thing is in his motherboard book its says that it supports 533FSB so i cant see wat the problem is, i will have a look for bios up dates
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    board may support 533 fsb but might not support prescott based celeron so check asus site for info
     
  5. p4_tt

    p4_tt Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Good point, But as far as i know his board supports HT so i dont see how it cant run a 533 Celeron d, its odd because Celeron d's from wat i have heard they are just old P4's which is funny because i put a old P4 1.6ghz in it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2005
  6. DMW

    DMW Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The board supports HT @ 533...it doesn't support 800fsb CPUs, therefore probably doesnt support the Presscot core, which as ddp says, these chips are based on.

    The Celeron D's are'nt old P4, as they used to be, they are a completley new breed and if a bios flash doesn't do it, unfortunately, your friend needs a new board.
    Cheers.
     
  7. p4_tt

    p4_tt Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well thats the 1st thing i said to him but he wanted to know for sure.

    Thanks for the input guys
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    hopefully if bios update available than new cpu might work
     

Share This Page