1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Champions: Return to Arms

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by jprailer, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. jprailer

    jprailer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi there...

    I recently acquired a DVD backup of the game Champions: Return to Arms, but unfortunately, loading it via Swap Magic DVD fails -- it shows a green border, then the good ol' blue border, but doesn't progess any further...

    So, following the advice at swapmagicfix.com, I try booting up with Swap Magic CD, swapping for CDLoader, pressing X and selecting the 5v3 NO PN option... but then when I press eject to switch out CDLoader for the Swap Magic DVD, it never stops spinning... so I can't use my slide card to switch out the DVD for Return to Arms! Anyone know what the problem could be, or have successfully got this game working?

    Thanks in advance,
    JP
     
  2. makkena

    makkena Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That shouldn't have happened. If the disc stopped spinning at the cd/dvd loader part, then it's not the game, it's either your ps2 or you accidentally pressed x. I used cd/dvd loader to load this game and it worked. Oh and I Don't use the slider card anymore. It killed the laser of my first ps2. I use a flip top now and swears by it
     
  3. makkena

    makkena Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That shouldn't have happened. If the disc stopped spinning at the cd/dvd loader part, then it's not the game, it's either your ps2 or you accidentally pressed x. I used cd/dvd loader to load this game and it worked. Oh and I Don't use the slider card anymore. It killed the laser of my first ps2. I use a flip top now and swears by it
     
  4. Nappster

    Nappster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is CD/DVD Loader? Is that another disc like Swap magic?
     
  5. makkena

    makkena Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The DVD loader is just a DVD version of the CD loader. The steps i use are

    1. Start up with Swap Magic DVD 2
    2. at "insert disc" i swap for the DVD loader
    3. hit x
    4. at the DVD loader screen, hit eject and put in the Swap magic DVD 2
    5. wait for the ps2DVD word to pop up
    6. hit x. then it goes to the red screen
    7. wait a little bit. then swap with the backup disc
    8. hit x
     
  6. danbooke

    danbooke Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    makkena - I don't wanna sound mean, but those steps make absolutely no sense.
     
  7. meb81081

    meb81081 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is there anyway to backup Champions:Return to Arms and play it with Swap Magic 3.3 alone? The whole CD loader thing confuses me(I've never used/needed cd loader). I know that to play NBA Street vol.3, you have to rebuild the DVD like with the Mercenaries game. How do you get a game like Champions: Return to Arms to play?
     
  8. danbooke

    danbooke Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not that I know of. The whole cd loader thing is confusing and almost a waste of time. It does work though.
     
  9. m21s

    m21s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It works with swap magic you kinda have to jump through some hoops though. First put the cd version of swap magic in and when it finishes loading up you push the eject button and the screen should say insert bigger toc disk. Then just put your dvd swap magic in and push the eject button again to close the tray then it should say refresh toc. When that's done you just use the slide tool and swap it like normal but you push the square button to start the game instead of x.
     
  10. miry2j

    miry2j Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Had the same problem downloaded and burned cd loader works like a champ.
     
  11. meb81081

    meb81081 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I Downloaded the CD Loader but how does it work? How do you use it?
     
  12. jprailer

    jprailer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cool, thanks so much! It worked, but I had to use X instead of square to boot it. But it works, cool.
     
  13. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thats the same way I use the loader/SM combo on every game that requires it. not sure what you're talking about.
     
  14. meb81081

    meb81081 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Swap Magic 3.3 sounds alot different then Swap Magic 2.0!!!!!!! I have Swap Magic 3.3!!!!!
     
  15. skorpeo

    skorpeo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can anyone help? I've tried to back up Champions:return to arms with nero, decryptor and A120, and they all resulted in coasters! I used the the walkthrough for burning Starwars BF and that didnt work either. I hear alot about this dvd/cd loader. What is it and where can I get it, also how does it work with a v3 fliptop and swapmagic 3.3? Anyones help would be greatly appreciated this is getting REALLY frustrating! thanx in advance to all who reply.
     
  16. bizkit69

    bizkit69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Everyone should try the method that m21s described in this thread using swap magic cd and dvd. It worked first try. Very simple. Thank you m21s.
     
  17. Themea

    Themea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    M21S you are a god, i followed all the swapmagic fix forums & CD loader etc, but cdloader didnt have a 5v3 no PN option or wateva, even burnt dvd loader & tried that (that had the option it sed was needed on swapmagicfix)
    Tried downloadin the swap magic fix from ps2ownz & that went nowhere, then i tried your instructions & woirked first pop, with swap magic 2.0 DVD Disc!!!

    Thanks heaps, if i didnt come across your instructions i woulda been patching DNAS & rebuilding all day to try get this game working,

    Thanks again!
     
  18. _ICh_

    _ICh_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to do it like m21s sayd but then there was an other problem.
    First without his method I was kicked to the screen where the memory card is.But whith his method there is only a black screen.

    1.I insert CD-Version(Swap magic)
    2.I press eject and input dvd-Version(Swap magic),to refreh TOC
    3.Now I insert Champions return to arms and press sqare(for special boot)

    _____________________________________________________________________
    Swap Magic 3.3
    Champions return to arms DVD-R
     
  19. majicmage

    majicmage Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried m21s method but when I ejected the cd version of swap magic 3.6 then put the dvd version I got a message saying "not a valid ps2 disc" instead of getting "refresh toc" Can anyone please help me.
     
  20. sui-cyco

    sui-cyco Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    has anybody had trouble getting your computer to read the disc.mine wont read the original at all and there is not a scratch on it.
     

Share This Page