1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chancing a video to MPEG format?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by kartsuli, Jan 14, 2004.

1. kartsuli

kartsuli Member

Hi! Could someone give me advices? I have a film in cd-r, the file is called Nousukausi.2003.DVDRip.XviD-NmG, and in properties box it says that this is MPEG Layer3. Problem is, that I can't watch this film in my DVD player. Is it possible to change this film into some other format (MPEG1?), so I can use it in normal DVD player? Now it works only in computer.
    Could you tell me, how to change it and what program I should use? I'm a real beginner in these things ;o)

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

Well This File should have an ".avi" extention and it seems that it was encoded useing the XviD codec which I suppose you have installed cuz if you didn"t you couldn"t watch it on your PC and it has Mp3 audio...You will Need to encode the File to Mpeg1/VCD format or if your DVD player supports it you can do Mpeg2/SVCD which is over twice the Quality of VCD...You will have to Put Most all Full Movies on 2 CD-R"s cuz you can only fir 70-80 minutes of Video in VCD Format on a CD-R...A couple of encoders that are fairly easy to use and Produce Quite Good Quality are "Tmpgenc" and "MainConcept Encoder" ,The MainConcept encoder would be best I think in this Case because Tmpgenc does not like Files encoded useing the XviD codec and it doesn"t like Compressed audio formats like Mp3 and especially VBR Mp3...After encodeing to VCD you will have to Burn the Files to CD-R in VCD Format useing something like Nero in Video-CD mode......Cheers

3. kartsuli

kartsuli Member

I downloaded that program, but it didn't read this file. I'll try to find the same film in "avi" and encode that to Mpeg 1 or 2. Maybe it's easier that way? Thanks for your advice anyway ;o)

4. Minion

Minion Senior member