1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Change Aspect Ratios

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by Jococo, Aug 1, 2018.

1. Jococo

Jococo Newbie

I inherited a few TB drives with thousands of video movies. It seems that all movies have been changed (Pardon me I'm new to this) from their original aspect ratios of 1.37:1 to 1:33:1. That isn't so bad But also there are others instead of 1.78 they are 1.33 etc. I use IMDB to see what the film aspect ratio was originally shot at, and I have a few I've found 2.35:1 / 2.55:1 that are now 1.78. So my question is how do I change the aspect of these movies back to what they should be?
    Also

I've noticed these old movies which should be like 23.976/FS are now 29.970.
    My goal is to put them on DVD and I would like them to appear properly on a TV screen

I've spent some time here but haven't come across an answer.

2. attar

attar Senior member

Can't help with thousands, but if these are DVD movie files (or mpeg2 files from a DVD) the only aspect ratio's supported by DVD is 16:9 or 4:3, i.e 1.333 or 1.777 - notwithstanding what IMDB lists as the AR when shown on a cinema screen.
    If they are North American (NTSC) files from a DVD, then the likes of MediaInfo will list them as 29.97 fps but they are in fact 23.976 with 'pulldown' applied to display them at the 29.97 rate to display on TV.

As an example, opening a file in GSpot shows my NTSC letterboxed edition of Titanic as 23.976 with 3:2 pulldown to 29.97

Also, as shown, video resolution is 720x480 which is the resolution that is expected for NTSC DVD video.

So, if the files are in fact already DVD compliant, they could be authored as DVD movies to disk without too much trouble.

Clipboard0112.

3. Jococo

Jococo Newbie

Attar,

Very much confused here but progress is well in hand Thank You,