1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cleaning computer fan

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by chloett11, Aug 13, 2007.

1. chloett11

chloett11 Guest

I just notice that my computer is starting to make noise when I turn on the computer (noise only last for two second or so) I starting to think maybe I shiould check and clean my fan but the problem is I don't know how since I have never done it before. I ask a couple of people on how to do it and they suggested using the compress air (didn't tell me how to use it) to blow out the dust but I was wondering is there a different way (like useing a cloth, a Q-tip or blow out the dust myself) to clean out the dust partical since I was told to go somewhere space out outdoor if I using the compress air since it going to be dust and the can itself have chemical but the thing is I living in third frloor or a families house so I don't want to carry it all the way downstair and there are kid (my nephhew live downloaad stair with my sester and oftenly come up to play) so I don't want my to be expose to such partical since he also have asma.

2. GrandpaBW

GrandpaBW Active member

Use compressed air. You don't have to be concerned with it. Don't do it with other people around, if you feel uneasy about it.

3. sammorris

sammorris Senior member

Compressed air can be got in a canned form. You use it in the same way you'd spray any aerosol like anti-perspirant or air freshener. They usually come with straw-like tubes to direct the air to a certain place. Find a place that's clogged up with dust then (with the PC off of course!) spray on it for a couple of seconds. You could then turn the PC on it's side, or upside down, to spray the dust out of the case. Just wait a couple of minutes for it to settle before letting asthmatics into the room again.

This is the sort of thing you're after:
    [​IMG]

4. mikeh0303

mikeh0303 Regular member