1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clicking inside Tower

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by ebe, Feb 9, 2007.

1. ebe

ebe Member

Can anyone out there help me?
    Ive been using Shrink/Fab/Decrypter/Clone for a couple of years without any problems.
    This last week, whilst using Fab etc, I hear a couple of clinks inside the tower whilst it is decrypting to the drive.
    It might only do this once in the half hour or so whilst it is writing to the drive.
    When I get Shrink to read and compress the VOB files I repeatedly get an 'Error reading Data' report.
    I know that clinking usually signifies that your hard drive is ready to die...But this clinking ONLY ever sounds when I am trying to rip a disc.
    Help please....Cheers.

2. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

your drive is not dying, it's having a hard time reading your disk! The clicking sound is the drive trying to read the disk, over and over again, in the area that is causing a problem! don't get scared or think that it's dying!