1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clone hdd to hdd advice please

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by ollie1, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i purchased an xbox 360 displaying freestyle 3 on the boot up screen

    also included is a 500gb samsung ext hdd full of games/ boot program

    the folders consist of games/dlaunch 3.07/fsd/debug/launch.

    i would like to clone everything onto a 1tb western digital ext hd

    so i could use just the wd hdd but it does not seem to copy samsung

    to wd, the wd is formatted to fat32 using guiformat. i have tried

    via windows7 using HDD rawcopy which looks like it had worked until

    connected to xbox then it states that i need to format the hdd

    before using it, i would like to use one hard drive only obviously

    the larger one and keep the samsung just as a back up incase

    something goes wrong with the other, also i have quite a few more

    games to install but as explained the 500gb hdd Samsung is full and

    will not accept any more. i am new to xbox so any advice will be

    very greatfull
     
  2. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Any software programs listed for download are free for personal use no exceptions unless otherwise stated so pay no money

    minitool partition wizard home (was at v8.0 last i checked)

    party buffalo drive explorer links are in blue below at bottom of post
    http://digiex.net/downloads/downloa...ad-xbox-360-fatx-hard-drive-usb-explorer.html

    Le Fluffie App "no it's not a porn software"..lol..
    http://www.se7ensins.com/forums/threads/le-fluffie-2012-profile-editor.702323/
    http://skunkiebutt.com/?page_id=362

    Ok i'll give it a go:

    Use minitool to format the 1tb to fat32 assuming the 500gb is also fat32 you should just be able to use drag n drop to transfer the lot from windows tho it may pay to install teracopy it's better than windows file copy

    other option is ftp from windows to the xbox to get files on the 1tb

    will leave the cloning for now as you shouldn't need it

    caps used as highlight action required:
    TO RECAP:-
    FORMAT 1TB TO FAT32-THEN CONNECT THE 500GB TO WINDOWS,USE EXPLORER TO ACCESS BOTH DRIVES & MANUALLY TRANSFER FILES FROM ONE TO THE OTHER assuming the 500 isn't partitioned
    .......................................................................................
    edit: BOOKMARK these or SPEED DIAL
    http://www.realmodscene.com/

    http://www.abgx360.net/download.php

    http://www.homebrew-connection.org/xmplayer-v0-0-4-a-new-version-of-the-libxenon-media-player/

    http://www.xbox-hq.com/html/modules.php?name=Xbox_Homebrew&op=view&gid=291&title=C-Xbox+Tool

    http://www.theisozone.com/

    https://github.com/LibXenonProject/xmplayer
    .......................................................................................
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2013
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    scorpNZ, would the wd diskmanager be able to do that for xbox drives?
     
  4. John_Smith

    John_Smith Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Number 03.

    And then it just sort of, got away.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    John_Smith, what are you talking about?
     
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Any partitioning software should be able too,some use that gui thing the OP mentioned,it doesn't really make sense if fsd3 is installed,once a drive is formatted to fat32 it should be readable up to 2tb once connected
     
  7. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you very much for your advise and help, I will try this and let you know how I got on. sorry I did not say it is not partitioned
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2013
  8. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used minitool and teracopy to format and install everything from the Samsung 500gb to the western digital 1tb only to find everthing works but the games on the wd hdd it states that no games are on it when trying to use any, but it shows all the games are on the drive, I have read that you change the folder from games to something else, I have also tried this and still no joy any advice please
     
  9. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Your post is confusing so separate what you've done with what & where by answering in numbered answers
    1-ok you've transferred the data from the 500gb to the 1tb & the 1tb works from fsd yes ?

    2-the wd hdd states there are no games on it ?

    3-what says there are no games ?

    4-what shows games are still there ?

    to try:
    1-shutdown the 360
    2-remove both drives from detection by pulling the usb cords out of the externals
    3-reboot the 360
    4-once in fsd attach the 500gb first
    5-using file manager does the 500gb now show up
    6-backout of file manager & go to games list can you see them now ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2013
  10. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you for your help, I have tried the wd hdd on its own and it boots up ok, going into the freestyle manager it shows all the games are on the hdd but when I try to play any it states that no games are on including xexmenu, (when both connected) under filemanager it shows I have the Samsung as usb0 and usb1 when opening either they both state that the games etc are on, then under my games I see two freestyle dash 2.2 and xexmene 1.1 folders if I open the first freestyle and xex the games show but on the second folders it reboots back to the freestyle 3 screen. I hope this is less confusing and I am very greatfull for your advice
     
  11. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Yeah ok it's fairly straight forward, whats happening is since you had the 500gb before the 1tb you set the game path to usb 0,now that you have copied everything over to the 1tb,it too will work if it's the only external connected,this is because when fsd is searching for the games it doesn't include usb1 as the paths were originally set to 0 that means when both drives are connected at the same time only one of them can be usb0

    the fix is to edit the path to 1 of the drives however the downside to doing this is you'll get dual game covers for the same games & when either 1 of the drives isn't connected if you hit enter to the non attached drive game cover it won't start the game

    Here's what i'd do i assume you want the 1tb to be the main drive as it holds more games,in your homebrew folder (if you have one) on the 500gb drive place a portable version of fsd in it or anywhere as you can use file explorer to launch the fsd xex,once it's started set the game path to the 500gb only,this is how i do mine since i have multiple drives incl the attached

    if your still on fsd 2 you should use the first link i gave (where it says edit: bookmark these)& get the latest portable version of fsd,a web search can also get you an installer type version of the earlier fsd3,don't remove fsd 2 it may come in handy if anything happens to fsd & vice versa
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  12. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you for your help, the way I would like to set the xbox is to use the wd hdd and keep the Samsung as a back-up only, sorry for sounding thick but I do not understand. the hdd's has a homebrew also various folders to use old Atari etc games, could you direct me to or explain in novices way to change the wd so this is usb0.
     
  13. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Perhaps it would be best to only connect the 1tb drive & start from scratch by installing the latest fsd 3 dash to it & have the 360 boot directly to it.

    It depends on how it was all setup as to what boots up to default dash & where dashlaunch is located,dashlaunch is used to get fsd to bootup directly if required too imo its the best option
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iaaIGwVA33U

    Then once fsd is set up to boot & whichever version of fsd is installed, then set the paths to the games,atari & homebrew etc from within fsd so that when they're scanned they appear as they should in games list etc so long as scan depth is set correctly this requires going into setup in fsd it will also require setting up an account with JQE360 to get the covers to download for the games etc
    http://www.realmodscene.com/index.php?/topic/439-how-to-set-up-f3-and-link/
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iaaIGwVA33U

    Keep in mind setting up the 1tb to usb0 & then the 500gb to usb1 in event of hdd failure of the larger drive,it would require you to possibly reset the path to boot usb1 as usb0,this is why i use fsd as a portable application & not autoboot from usb,instead i prefer to load the external by using the file mananger & launching the fsd i have on it,so basically any external drive i attach has it's own copy of fsd & i don't include paths from other externals that maybe attached which i think you should do the with 500,by all means set up the 1tb as your main bootable drive but don't add the 500gb to it's fsd path,instead have a copy of fsd on the 500 in the apps folder or homebrew & use file manger to launch it,tho it means each drive will be independent of one another & any settings will need to be set from within each version of fsd that resides on the backup externals,it sounds confusing but one you get the hang of it will be easy,so for now practice with the 1tb
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2013
  14. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cannot thank you enough you have been a fantastic help to me a complete and total novice, I understand what you mean and will get to it when I get back home from work next week, I will let you know how I got on and thanks once again for taking the time and brain power to explain
     
  15. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    when your back home check the 360 settings that xbox live is disabled this is done from nxe only

    1-does the 360 have its own hdd if so what size is it

    2-what method do you extract the games from the iso with,there's two methods i know of apart from the normal use the 360 dvd drive to extract to onboard hdd or some memory unit,both methods use the computer

    360isoextract or wording like that
    the other
    iso2god

    you'll need to create an account here from the computer to be able to login with the 360 to download the covers & info of any games that are missing info data,any covers that get missed maybe either rescanned manually or if that fails download directly from the computer & installed from a memory unit or an hdd,note that website provides the game name & also it's title ID number as it would appear in a content folder,so if you have any games that are only in a numbered folder you can quickly find out what they are assuming nxe2god or iso2god was used to extract the game
    http://covers.jqe360.com/
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2013
  16. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so sorry it has taken so long to reply, working 15 hours per day does not give you much time to get back to this. anyway I have tried your ideas and xex games shown and worked but freestyle did not show any also tried several ways to copy hdd to hdd also no joy, connected to jqe.com and it downloaded all updates, after looking at the forum for compatible hdd for xbox this model is not on list so I think I will buy another one as recommended now I can afford it. thank you once again for all you advice
     
  17. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    When freestyle is installed & is started for the first time,it will not show any games the reason for this is you need to set the directory where the games are installed so it can be scanned,it's important to set the correct scan depth i'd recommend no less than 4

    watch any you tube vids or just go straight to settings in fsd,set you cover quality to desired,set screenshot amount etc once this is done do the rest of settings & also set fsd to autoscan (once all games are scanned you can disable autoscan on start up),basicly just play around with fsd you'll get the hang of it
     
  18. ollie1

    ollie1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i will do knowledge is a wonderful thing, I will read your advice about fsd before trying and letting you know if all works fine thank you once again
     
  19. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    there is an older fsd version that has it's own installer,i think you place it content folder & it will appear in nxe,you hit it & it installs & once installed automatically becomes default boot dash,it also auto updates,however the latest version is a portable one

    2nd link in my sig should have a tut on how to setup fsd
     

Share This Page