1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CloneCD says disc not empty

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mrpike, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all
    NOt a newbie by a longshot but this is probably real basic.
    I recently bought some of these:
    AONE 8X DVD+R Double Layer Branded

    DVDInfoPro says:
    Media Information
    Region information N/A not a DVD-VIDEO
    Media code/Manufacturer ID RICOHJPNÓD0
    Media Product Revision Number 02h
    Format Capacity Blank Disc
    Book Type DVD+R DL
    Media Type DVD+R DL
    Manufacturer Rated Speed Unknown
    Available Write Descriptor CLV 8.0x 11080KBps
    Available Write Descriptor CLV 6.0x 8310KBps
    Available Write Descriptor CLV 4.0x 5540KBps
    Data area starting sector 30000h
    Layer 0 end sector 22D7FFh
    Linear Density 0.293um/bit
    Track Density 0.74um/track
    Number of Layers 2
    Layer Track Path direction (OTP) Opposite track path

    Complete Media Code
    00000000 08 02 00 00 E1 0F 32 10 00 03 00 00 00 FC FF FF ......2.........
    00000010 00 22 D7 FF 00 00 03 52 49 43 4F 48 4A 50 4E 44 .".....RICOHJPND
    00000020 30 31 02 40 25 25 37 10 00 2C 6C 00 2C 6C 20 1F 01.@%%7..,l.,l .
    00000030 0C 0C 14 14 02 01 01 20 00 20 1F 0C 0C 14 14 02 ....... . ......

    No matter what burning software I use, even with drive locked, I get an error saying the drive is full, incomplete or "not empty".

    My burning drive is a Sony DVD RW DW-G120A with the MY6 firmware installed.

    Are they just crappy media or am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    Looks like it may be crappy media
     
  3. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    fooking great (Sigh)
    GIGO still holds true eh..
    Thanks for the link though.
     
  4. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well you dont always need to buy the best media around
    but stay away bargin "name" media.
    I have not used to many DL discs myself.
    Still to overpriced too take a chance on making a coasters.
    That is what Shrink and CCE are for..

    Edit

    Well I guess it been too long since I checked on the cost of a DL.
    I see they under $2.
    I might start using them for some of the higher compression DVDs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2007
  5. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @mrpike

    Search the Sunday sales circulars in the paper, BB,CC,OD, Stap. Good media is always on sale.

    You can buy cheap media or you can buy good media cheap!
     
  6. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  7. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    Anything that says Verbatim :)
     
  8. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    In DL media, as the fiend says, only Verbatim DLs

    In regular SL DVD, Made in Japan media,& Verbatims. And you can buy media cheap if you shop a little.
     
  9. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can't go wrong with Verbatim.
     
  10. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just so we're clear on this, I'm getting a steer towards Verbatims...
    Bought the Pioneer 111D tonight with a new 80 pin cable just incase. I'll let you know if it makes any difference whatsoever.

    Cheers
    Damian
     
  11. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, new drive in (there has to be a special hell for whoever designed the jumper system (and people who design ribbons too short to reach)).
    I ordered a 111D but got a 112D. Hey ho. At FW 1.06 it at least now recognises that the DVD's are empty so here goes.
    CloneCD burned successfully with no errors.
    1) Game - It did not however play on my target system (see what I did there...).
    2) DVD - NERO 7 crapped out on the second layer burning a DVD9 video using, stating "internal target failure".

    So, I've upped the firmware to the official 1.09 (strangely dated 10 days prior to the 1.06) and I'll see what that does.


     
  12. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    FW updated, burning .dvd with ImgBurn.
    All ok until about 52% (same as Nero, presumably on layer 2) where it says:
    I/O error
    ScsiStatus:0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition
    CDB: 2A 00 00 1D 5B 80 00 00 20 00
    Interpretation Write (10) - Sectors: 1923968 - 1923999
    Sense area (ton of numbers)
    Interpretation: Invalid address for Write.

    Grr. I have 17 other RicohJPN discs to go at which I'm not binning just yet. On the Pioneer 112D firware update, there is a PDF file showing that this drive supports that media.

    Soooo... I'll try something else unless any of that means anything to anyone? (I have some verbatims on the way though).
     
  13. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Try using ImgBurn for the DL discs. get yourself some VerbatimDLs. Use ImgBurn to build and write the ISO and let it select the layer break. Nero's not that good with DL dsics yet.

    LOCOENG's Abstraction
    Imgburn-
    http://www.imgburn.com

    Guides:

    Burning DVD Video files directly to double layer media with ImgBurn
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1780

    Creating a single layer ISO on your hard drive using ImgBurn
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1778

    Creating a double layer ISO on your hard drive using ImgBurn
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1777

    ImgBurn Build Mode, An Overview
    http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=1779
     
  14. mrpike

    mrpike Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for that.
    Results so far are:
    1 Successful 360 backup.
    2 failures.

    1 semi successful DVD backup which plays on one DVD player only.

    I think the issue was a compound of crappy media, the Sony drive not being that hot, the cable being ATA66 and some DMA issues that I finally figured out.

    In all, I'm confident that with some Verbatims it'll be okay and my son can scratch his games to his hearts content.

    Cheers all and thanks for the pointers :)
     

Share This Page