1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clonedvd 3 splitting problem

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by turd32, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. turd32

    turd32 Guest

    i'm trying to split a dual layer dvd into 2 single layer disks to keep the quality. when i analyzed the dvd, the estimated input and output sizes of the disk were disk 1: 4+ gb, disk 2: 3+ gb. which was cool. but after actually ouputting the dvd, disk 2's output size came out to be 5+ gb. so i couldnt burn disk 2. disk 1 was fine and came out close to what the output size was suppose to be. be disk 2 came out about 2 gigs more than what it should've. now i cant burn it. any ideas on what could be going on? thanks a lot.
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What kind of DVD do you have that grows when you split it - Are you sure you're not rendering a file somewhere ?

    A normal person would rip the disc to their HD then edit it with DVDFab (FREE), DVD Shrink (FREE) or Nero's Recode2 ($$$$) putting 1/2 of the vob files on one disc and the other 1/2 on the other.

    Cheers,
     
  3. LionelS

    LionelS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ScubaPete, does your method preserve the menu and allow it to be used as a working menu when splitting over two discs? Since DVDXcopy I have yet to see one that does it like this (that I am aware of). I presume by splitting to two discs there is no quality loss at all (as there should be no compression).If there are new ones out there show me the way and I will follow......
     
  4. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Generally, when you split a disc, you lose your active menu on the second half. Sorry but it's been a few yrs since I split discs.

    As for quality, using CloneDVD2 OR Shrink with the all quality enhancements, you just cannot tell the difference between the original and the backup when watching on any of today's TV sets including (for those reading this and cannot understand "today's TV's) - LCD, HDD-TV OR Plasma sets.

    The only other programs that I consider able to do this are ReBuilder w/ CCE (SP) and DVD2One.

    Cheers,

    Pete
     
  5. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You can split a movie using Clone DVD2 and preserve the menus on both disks.

    [​IMG]

    You will have to split at middle of movie, and then encode. Go back and start at the chapter you ended first half with, and encode that half. Move the slider bar to remove the second half, and then the first half.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2005
  6. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Also check into DVDFab as I think you can also use that.

    (forgot about CloneDVD2. Good program, that :)

    Good call, arniebear ~
     

Share This Page