1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

COD MW3 and Battlefield 3 back ups giving disc read errors

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by wtram83, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. wtram83

    wtram83 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,

    I have a 360 with a Lite On drive that has the latest dashboard and is flashed to iXtreme LT+ 2.0 and I am having problems. It plays all of my older back ups with no problem, but most of the new XGD 3 games have been giving me problems. I am using Verbatim 2.4x discs and have gotten the .iso files for the games from several different sites. I am burning with IMG Burn 2.5.6 at 2.4x and have been truncating the discs as all of the guides have suggested. Ace Combat: Assault Horizon, NCIS, Body Count, and Dues Ex: Human Revolution all play flawlessly, but, Lord Of The Rings: War In The North, Gears Of War 3, and Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim all load and then freeze either before the game starts or right after. Battlefield 3 won't load at all and gives a "Disc Is Unreadable" error. Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 loads and plays for a minute or so before giving the "Disc Is Unreadable Error" which is weird becuase you can actually get into the game and start playing, fire your gun and everything like you would if the game was store bought and then all of a sudden, it gives the error. This is getting VERY frustrating and I have search the net (Google) for answers to my problems and have tried several different solutions to no avail. Any help would be greatly appreciated cause I am getting to the point to where I am about ready to get rid of the system all together if I can't play the newer games. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    are you burning with the new burning software? Do you have one of new liteons flashed with imax?
     
  3. 360lifer

    360lifer Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've had no issues with games using the truncating method. Only game that won't work is Forza 4 and thats dues to that security bit.

    The only thing I could think to start the troubleshooting is using your burnt discs in another 360 to see if they show the same errors.

    Other then that, might be time to look at x360key.
     
  4. wtram83

    wtram83 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Like I said, I am burning with IMG Burn 2.5.6 and my drive is almost 3 years old and it has been flashed with the newest 2.0 firmware.
     
  5. scoobpoo

    scoobpoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    your DVD drive on your computer not your xbox needs to be flashed with a special fw called burner max, and this fw will only will only work on certain drives. You need one of the following Lite-On SATA drives:

    Lite-On iHAS124B
    Lite-On iHAS224B
    Lite-On iHAS324B
    Lite-On iHAS424B
    Lite-On iHAS524B
    Lite-On iHAS624B

    The trunicate method you are using is garbage, ignore the trunicate guide! many reports of the same problem you are having are all over xbox forums, your gonna have to buy one of these drives as the way you are burning is only burning at 97% and the new burner max fw burns at 100%
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  6. 360lifer

    360lifer Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just finished the first mission in MW3 using the truncating method. Seems your 360 can handle it or not. And there is plenty of people with issues using that MAX burner stuff as well. Its not 100% guaranteed to work.

    Second mission done as well. Got to stop or I won't get anything done today. :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  7. wtram83

    wtram83 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, so why is some of the other XGD3 games playing fine and MW3 isn't? Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is also XGD3 and it plays with no problems at all but then again, Battlefield 3 isn't loading at all. It just seems like the good games that are coming out will not work, but all of the ones that SUCK work fine with Ace Combat being the exception to the word SUCK. lol.
     
  8. scoobpoo

    scoobpoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    they will work if you burn at 100%, some of the new games probably have some info at the end of the disk needed on some xbox drives to read. Just burn at 100% it only cost $20 for a new drive
     
  9. 360lifer

    360lifer Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So far only Forza 4 has been confirmed to need a 100% burn.
     
  10. scoobpoo

    scoobpoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that's not true! The trunicate method works for most 360 users but certain 360 drives are having trouble playing games such as goldeneye, and BF3. I have 3 xbox's and only 1 of them is playing Goldeneye using the trunicate method, once i burnt it at 100% it plays fine. My kprobe results on the trunicate burn were well within the standard range. Search this forum and you will find other users with this problem as well using trunicate. Most problems ppl are having with burner max is getting it to burn fully with proper kprobe results, once this is reached your game will work
     
  11. 360lifer

    360lifer Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Which drives? Seems the people having the issues are the ones who pay to get flashed and have no clue what drive they have.....
     
  12. Ekirred

    Ekirred Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having similar issues to the original poster. My drive is the Lite-on D12 one, 7xxxxC (sorry, not at home right now - can't confirm exact model) - flashed with latest iXtreme LT 2.0. My burner is the iHAS 224 B updated with the newest burner max. Burned at 2.4x w/ verbatim disc, 001. Attempted two burns of call of duty mw3, both different ISOs, similar result:

    Game loads up with no issues, after about 3-5 minutes I receive dirty disc error. The first disc happens almost immediately (1 minute), while the second disc will happen after maybe 5 minutes. I can hear the drive stop spinning, then maybe 2 seconds later the error pops up and kicks me back to the dash.

    My old games work with no issues, play fine never giving the error. I will need to check the disc results with the kprobe tool, but I am a little lost of what the problem could be.

    If anyone has anything else I could try, please let me know.. Seems as if my drive just doesn't like the additional data from an overburned disc, but not sure what else could be the problem.
     
  13. wtram83

    wtram83 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just wanted to let every one here know that I seemed to have fixed my problem. I reburned the exact same .ISO file that I burned with my desktop pc. but this time, I burned with my laptop pc, which has a totally different burner, IMG Burn 2.5.6, on the same Verbatim 2.4x discs, and I am playing on the same 360 that was giving me issues and the game is playing flawlessly and has been for almost 2 hours. So, I assume that the problem was the burner in my desktop pc cause after i burned with a different drive, there is no problems. Oh yeah, the disc is truncated and there still is no prolems. Thanks guys for all of your help. It is VERY much appreciated.
     
  14. gradeon

    gradeon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you need to use burner max fw to burn ur games. if u dont feel like doing that then you cant play lol ! truncate method is garbage. just buy an ihas drive from newegg and an enclosure. probably 40-50 bucks. takes 2 days to get to your house and another 10 minutes to flash it. stop being lazy guys.
     
  15. 360lifer

    360lifer Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Has nothing to do about being lazy and truncate isn't garbage, it works for every game except one so far. If someone has a issue with it then they can get the new burner but for the rest of us, we are not mindless sheep who has to get something because c4 said so.
     
  16. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It's not being mindless. It makes far more sense to burn 100% of the ISO to disc instead of 97% and burners cost $20.

    1. MS will know that there's loads of pirates playing truncated burns, so they could come up with a method of detecting that over Live or in a future dashboard update.

    2. The next version of abgx360 will support the original ISOs and ISOs ripped from a 100% burn, but will it support truncated ISOs and discs? I doubt it. Unless you've kept all of your original untouched ISOs, you won't be able to patch your games when the DAE table is updated.

    3. At least 1 game doesn't work properly unless you burn it 100%. If there's not already others that don't work, there no doubt will be as MS don't create new protection just to use it with one game.

    4. If you want to get an xk3y or whatever in the future, if you burned 100% of the game to disc you can just rip it to an ISO and it'll work with the drive emulator.

    You're far better off spending $20 now and burning ISOs fully instead of chopping the end of them off, cos not doing that is the "mindless" choice.
     
  17. 360lifer

    360lifer Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't see why MS will care if you burn 97% or 100%, they still will create any new defense that will impact both.

    Once I burn a game and play it, thats it, I don't normally go back and play it so that has zero effect on me.

    There is always the chance that the next new game will be like Forza 4 or that they'll have something completely new that screws even the MAX burners.

    Again, if I burn a disc then I Play that disc, I don't mass burn 20 then slowly go thru the list. So any game I will play with the x360key will be a game I've not played nor burn so no issue there.

    So $20-30 for the drive then $60ish for the right verbs? Might as well buy an x360key which I will be doing later this year.

    Ya know, I ain't trying to dis all the MAX people but its like the great verb vs memorex debate from three years ago. Yes, the verbs/MAX work the best but for some of us, its not needed and not always the answer to every issue.
     
  18. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Forza 4 proves that that's not necessarily the case as it only affects people that truncated the ISO.

    If you're only playing single player and then never going back to the game, then fine, but a lot of people aren't doing that, especially with games like MW3 and Battlefield 3 where most people play them online for months on end and it's those games that this thread is about.
     
  19. steo2k8

    steo2k8 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    well people are getting memorex to work but I can't get the mirror discs I've used for over a year to work on my new burner with burner max on xdg3 games properly but it works with verbs. If people have memorex working surely I can get these mirror discs working somehow.
     
  20. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It depends on the quality of the dye they use, the overall quality of the disc, and how well the burner's write strategies have been tuned for that particular media ID. Just because one brand works, it doesn't mean another will.
     

Share This Page