1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cogswap help...

Discussion in 'PS2' started by kiloolik, May 26, 2007.

  1. kiloolik

    kiloolik Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ive just installed the memory card exploit on my fat ps2 and it works perfect :D

    But my question is : how do i load psx backups or ps2 cd-r backup?

    would i need to use a different .elf file?

    thanks a lot guys

    great forum ;)
     
  2. ps2wizz

    ps2wizz Regular member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    dont thik there are any elf's that can play PSX games but if i remember correctly v9's have a exploit in them that means u can play them
     
  3. kiloolik

    kiloolik Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm thanks, its alright i can live without the psx backups.

    But the ps2-cdr games.. there must be a way to boot those?
     
  4. kiloolik

    kiloolik Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  5. 5h4d0wXXX

    5h4d0wXXX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if you trying to load a cd backup you have to be using an original cd game. to boot the psx backups you need to make a uLaunchELF cd.
    when you do that you boot up launchelf put an original psx game in wait for that disc to stop spinning then you swap it with your psx backup. then you select ps2 browser in the misc. section. it will take you back to the ps2 main menu then u select your game and play
     
  6. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    PS2 CD Backups are only one button different than DVD use the O button instead of X. Like this:

    Load cogswap
    hit eject
    put in original PS2 CD game (blue back)
    hit eject to suck tray in
    wait till the disc image turns blue and it say PS2 CDROM at bottom
    hit O
    Wait till disc image turns purple and it say use cogswap
    Swap in your backup
    hit O to execute

    Try this for PS1 CD Backups

    Add ulaunch.elf (get from sksapps.com)to your Mem Card Exploit
    Bootup ulaunch.elf
    hit select to goto config
    select any button to assign (use O button for select not X)
    select MISC/
    Select PS2Browser
    now select ok

    Now you will be at the ulaunch.elf menu again this time the button you assigned to the PS2Browser will be selectable.

    How to use:
    1)boot ulaunch.elf
    2)hit eject(to eject tray)
    3)put in original PS1 CD
    4)hit eject(to suck in tray)
    5)the disc will spin, when it stops swap for your backup
    6)now hit the button you assigned to PS2Browser
    7)now you should see a mem card and a disc image choose the disc to
    play your backup.
    (same as with all backups your original must have a bigger TOC than the backup you intend to play.)
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2007
  7. kiloolik

    kiloolik Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks alot!! it worked :)
     
  8. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No prob. I knew the PS2 CD would work i have done it before, but just to be sure did you try a PS1 CD with my method? (well not really mine I pieced it together from other posts but modified things to work for you) I don't even have a PS1 Backup about 120 PS2 backups though. Just want to know incase others ask.
     
  9. kiloolik

    kiloolik Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Actually, i didnt try the ps1 method yet.

    Gimme a sec... (runs to ps2)


    *****.. doesnt work.. like when i return to the menu and select the ps1 cd. IT loads the playstation screen and just hangs forever.
     
  10. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you check disc size? Backup must be smaller than original.
    Have you played this particular backup before?
    Have you ever made a working PS1 Backup?

    Just getting all facts. If we can't get you going. I will try creating a backup and running one. I have PS1 games but just never got in to backing up until PS2 and I don't play older games, barley have time for the newer ones. I enjoy trying to figure these things out just may take me some time.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2007
  11. kiloolik

    kiloolik Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Disc size of backup : 587 mb (Resident Evil)
    Disc size of original: 620mb (final fantasy v11)

    I have played all my ps1 backups on my friends pstwo ( slimline). I did the good ole switch the cd out wehn the ps1 logo comes up and it allways works.. for the slim.. not for fatty :(

    If you have time to create a backup and try it, that would be awesome. But dont go out of your way, just for me haha. I'm sure some one else will chime in.

    btw : i think my ps2 is a V4.. if it matters
     
  12. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well I've done further searching and found that the info is only good for PS2 V9 and up. So far I have found no way to load PS1 games on a PS2 V8 and lower. I made a copy and tried this and other methods none work my PS2 is a V4 also. I will try my neighbors but his is a slim that I did the AR Max USB Mod on. This won't help our V4 fatties, but will tell me if my copy works. I will keep an eye out for more info and if I find any I will report back.
     

Share This Page