1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cold Heat Soldering Gun

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by L-Burna, Sep 22, 2004.

1. L-Burna

L-Burna Active member

Is it possible to use one of those Cold Heat Soldering guns doing a modchip install on a PS2.I was wondering to be honest,because in my oppinion they seem like they would be perfect for a modchip install and it only cost like 20 dollars.I wanted to install a Matrix Infinity in my system,but I can't afford to pay for a premodded or even with the installation cost.I was thinking is it possible to use this.The cool thing also I have noticed is that it only solders when it touches metal,so would this protect the motherboard from burning also.I am just a beginner so I am looking for the best advice and any help I can get.

2. L-Burna

L-Burna Active member

I found the site to get it https://www.asseenontvnetwork.com/vcc/coldheat/coldheat/index/115754/ but I am not sure about this.I was wondering if anybody looked at this soldering tool yet.

3. donchihm3

donchihm3 Member

Go for it bro looks like its great

4. L-Burna

L-Burna Active member

Alright thanks donchihm3 I will try it out and see if it works.

5. nelswick

nelswick Regular member

i saw a post on this in the x-box forum...

according to some guy it sends 2 different currents through each little point and when the circuit is completed it creates a tremendous amount of heat. this poses a problem because in order to make the heat, current must be sent though the point you are soldering so you could damage some sensitive parts on the motherboard. i dont really know if this is true but it seems to make sense. do a search for the thread that was in the x-box forum.

6. leeborn

leeborn Regular member

7. cdub998

cdub998 Member

Also they had this thing on the screen savers. The tip is WAY to big to do a mod chip install anyway.

8. L-Burna

L-Burna Active member